BHB: A dive that counts!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Riviera Beach
August 17th 2012
Published: August 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Lately I have been having a weird feeling of being lost in the crowd. I feel like taking the same pictures of the same critters with the same lens on similar cameras has become a routine, all the photos look the same and it’s boring after a while. The fact that everything that I shot today I have never seen before made this dive the coolest dive of the weekend.

The morning light was stunning. I was surrounded by lots of shinnies and I wished I had spent time using the video mode. I saw a couple of needle nose fish in the surface feeding on them. I watch them hunt. Pretty amazing. I started to feel the connection I thought was gone. There were about 4 small frilly seahorses in the grass. Sort of small and tucked in and I left them alone. It is always awesome to know that there are seahorses everywhere with color or with no color. Those are hard to miss. But I am seahorse out. The grass is growing and reminded me St. Thomas. I saw the new piles of rocks with algae growing and covered with fish already. I believe the artificial reef is going to be awesome and give the bridge a quick change. I will keep adding my own artifacts. I continued my dive not really looking at any thing but rather enjoying the light coming through the water even under the bridge, between the pilings. I got to see how it really looks like under the bridge. It must have been 200 ft viz. A gorgeous blue fish grabbed my attention. It was new for me. I haven’t really paid much attention to fish before. A Blue Hamlet. Real pretty. Shiny blue. Blue Blue. I saw hundreds of spades gliding around. Then I spotted a couple of mated remoras flirting around. Going up and down and around each other. The lovers spin around me at least three times. That sighting was the coolest part of my dive. At the end of the dive I run into two baby scorpion fish, one laying on top of the other one. They were adorable but the photo does not show how cute they were. It was hard to compose pleasantly. I tried a couple of angles. One works better than the other one but I am not real happy with any of them. It was just different to see a pair.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

:(:(
:(

My first conservationist shot.
Scorpion fish pair. Scorpion fish pair.
Scorpion fish pair.

Best angle but affected dof.


20th August 2012
Mated Remoras

This has to be one of the best photos of remoras I've ever seen. Glad to hear that the dive unsettled your boredom and provided some novel creatures. :)
21st August 2012
Mated Remoras

Mated remoras
Beautiful shot!!
28th September 2012
Mated Remoras

beautiful
Beautiful!

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 27; dbt: 0.034s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb