Day 45 - New Orleans to Florida


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida
October 26th 2011
Published: October 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Another long day of travelling by bus of which I thought was going to be boring. Twenty-four hours from here, to Miami. Or rather, Fort Lauderdale.

So there I was, aboard the bus at 10am. I was minding my own business, having my iPod playing. I went through Mississippi and Alabama again, seeing what I missed at night time.

Not long after arriving in the state of Florida, a girl who was sitting in the next row over asked if she could sit next to me. She happened to be really cute, and the thought of talking to her happened to cross my mind beforehand. So I thought, why not? It looked like she wanted a chat, and I could do that. The last place of all I'd expect this kind of thing to happen though, was on of course, a greyhound bus. Of all other places.

And there as we had it, we ended up striking up a wonderful conversation. She was so free spirited and free minded, much like my own self, and much of the talk involved the topic of travelling and inspirational attitudes towards life. Our attitudes were just about identical. She really wanted to travel, too.

She was on her way home to Tampa in Florida, and we would have until Orlando before it was time to split, and to be honest, I didn't want that to happen. What I thought was originally going to be a boring day, turned out to be the most interesting bus trip of all. I was grateful that I got the chance to know her, and happy to know that there are indeed people like her around.

After our layover in Tallahassee, it was soon time to go to sleep, and I put my iPod on for the both of us to listen through the whole Owl City playlist. It was sweet. She even put her head on my shoulder as we slept through to Orlando, where we would have one final chat before boarding our separate buses. Not intended to be the last chat. We made sure to exchange contact details and she said she'll be visiting Australia when she can. New friend, welcome.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0874s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb