Cape Canaveral to St. Augustine


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » St Augustine
January 27th 2007
Published: February 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Cape Canaveral to St. Augustine


Ponce DeLeonPonce DeLeonPonce DeLeon

Ponce is a big name here. He came looking for the fountain of youth. As far as I know he didn't find it.
1/27/07
After spending the night in the St. Augustine Hostel, I drove my bike around the town. It is a very neat town. Similar to Key West’s Duval St. they have St. George Street. Lots of old stuff in this town, which is not a surprise since this is the oldest City in the USA (log that in your grey matter you trivia buffs). Pirates burned this City down 3 times in the past so Pirate stuff was commonly seen. Also Ponce De Leon came here looking for the fountain of youth so their was a lot of his stuff as well. I really should have stayed longer, but I was a little tired and ready to head to Gainesville where a friend Anna resides. I could use some good rest.

Around 12:30 I headed for Gainesville. It was a quick drive to Gainesville. I stopped and bought some boiled peanuts and Strawberries. It was weird having fresh strawberries this time of year. The peanuts reminded me of new potatoes. I made it to Gainesville around 3:00. Before I knew I fell a sleep on their couch. I didn’t realize I was that tired. It was very nice to chill
Hostel ExteriorHostel ExteriorHostel Exterior

This Hostel had a pirates theme. Lots of character. I really liked this Hostel.
out and not have to think about where I was staying or where I was going. It was very relaxing. We rode bikes for about an hour and then went out to eat that night. That night was just what the Doctor ordered. I slept about 10 hours.

1/28/07
The next day I spent most of the day working on my travel blog and rode my bike for awhile. It was very relaxing. That night I again slept about 10 hours.

1/29/07
I spent some of the morning working on my travel blog and then left Gainesville around 1:00 headed for Clearwater Beach for my next Hostel stay.



Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Steps into HostelSteps into Hostel
Steps into Hostel

We're Rascals, Villains, Scoundrels and Knaves! Drink up me Hearties, Yo Ho Ho! A pirates Life for Me!
Hostel DormHostel Dorm
Hostel Dorm

Here is where I laid my head.
Welcoming SignWelcoming Sign
Welcoming Sign

How welcoming is a sign like this?
St. AugustineSt. Augustine
St. Augustine

This is a pretty cool place. They have ghost tours at night and lots of cool places to shop and eat. I would like to come back here again some day.
SginsSgins
Sgins

Signs, Signs Everywhere Signs.......
Old TavernOld Tavern
Old Tavern

I would have liked to went to this tavern.
Oldest City in AmericaOldest City in America
Oldest City in America

Since it is the oldest City in America there are lots of old buildings.
Manatee Pic Manatee Pic
Manatee Pic

Always looking for manatee pic opportunities.
Fountain of Youth?Fountain of Youth?
Fountain of Youth?

Ponce may want to try some of this water.
Store FrontStore Front
Store Front

Evidently St. Augustine is cat friendly!
City of St. Augustine Municipal BuildingCity of St. Augustine Municipal Building
City of St. Augustine Municipal Building

I think this is the City's Municipal Building, which also houses the Lightner Museum (whatever that is).
Circa 1763 HomeCirca 1763 Home
Circa 1763 Home

This home was built around 1763. That's old.
St. George St.St. George St.
St. George St.

Every City has it's street. Key West has Duval St. while St. Augustine has St. George St.
Oldest Wood School in AmericaOldest Wood School in America
Oldest Wood School in America

This is the oldest wood school in America according to the sign on the building. I have no reason to dispute that claim.


Tot: 0.64s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 21; qc: 98; dbt: 0.3144s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb