Everglades to Cape Canaveral


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Cape Canaveral
January 26th 2007
Published: February 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Everglades to Cape Canaveral


Sunset FishingSunset FishingSunset Fishing

This pic was taken at Sebastian Inlet State Park at sunset.
I decided to spend the night at Sebastian Inlet State Park a little ways south of Cocoa Beach. This coast line is very cool and some high end subdivisions are in this area. I suspect this is true anywhere along the coast in Florida and there is a lot of Coast. I suspect a lot of these homes are second homes.

Made it to Sebastian Inlet State Park around 6:00 and they were full. They offered me a couple other campground options, which included parking in their lot for $13. This seemed pricey to me for a parking spot. I took several sunset photos. It was cool seeing the tide rush out of the inlet and into the Atlantic Ocean as the time was trending towards low-tide. There were lots of fisherman in this area.

I drove on and checked out another camp site that was expensive and decided to go for a bite to eat. Had a bowl of chowder (New England style) and a beer. Stopped at another beach bar just to check it out, but it was so smoke filled that I left right away. I have gotten a little snobbish towards smoke free bars. I
Sunset Through GrassSunset Through GrassSunset Through Grass

I liked the depth of this pic.
got spoiled in the northeast as most of those places are smoke free. In Florida if food is being served you can not smoke in that establishment. I like the rule. I decided to drive back to Sebastian Inlet and stay there for the night and paid the $13 to park there!

1/26/07
I made it to Cape Canaveral around 1:00 in the afternoon. It was very cool, but I didn’t like having to pay the $38 to get in. Not sure why, but I didn’t expect that. I enjoyed the Appolo stuff the most. Went to the Astronaut Hall of Fame afterwards and rode a couple rides in this building, which made me sick. I didn’t blow chow, but I was close. I was regretting having done that. The last time I felt this sick was on the Stratosphere rides in Vegas.

I then went to St. Augustine, where I was going to stay at a Hostel. This Hostel was very cool as it had a pirate them ARRRRRR! Lots of cool pics. That night however some partiers came in a little intoxicated around 12:00 which was a little disturbing. They left however around 12:30 and never
CampsiteCampsiteCampsite

My campsite at Sebastian Inlet State Park. They were filled up so they let me and these other people stay in their parking lot for a few dollars.
came back. I got some sleep after that.



Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Ron Jon Surf ShopRon Jon Surf Shop
Ron Jon Surf Shop

This it THE Ron Jon Surf Shop in Cocoa Beach, Florida. I didn't stop in as I already had my board waxed.
Ron Jon Surf Shop - Pic 2Ron Jon Surf Shop - Pic 2
Ron Jon Surf Shop - Pic 2

Check out the surfer statue in front of the building.
Ripe OrangesRipe Oranges
Ripe Oranges

Looks to me like it is time to pick those oranges.
Cape Canaveral EntranceCape Canaveral Entrance
Cape Canaveral Entrance

For some reason there seems to be some kind of space theme around here?
Space Shuttle GarageSpace Shuttle Garage
Space Shuttle Garage

This building is huge. In this building I think they change the space shuttles oil and rotate it's tires.
Merritt Island National Wildlife RefugeMerritt Island National Wildlife Refuge
Merritt Island National Wildlife Refuge

The Cape Canaveral area is vast. The marjoirty of the area is a National Wildlife Refuge. The gators have a great view of the launches.
Space Shuttle LaunchSpace Shuttle Launch
Space Shuttle Launch

This is a picture of the space shuttle and it's crew taking off on a trip to New Orleans for Mardi Gras!
Air Force StationAir Force Station
Air Force Station

The southern portion of Cape Canaveral is an air force station. They launch satellites and stuff (highly classified) from this site. Have to keep track of the Red Army you know!
East Launch PadEast Launch Pad
East Launch Pad

There are couple launch pads on site, this being the east one.
Tour BusesTour Buses
Tour Buses

These are the buses that transported us silly tourist around the complex.
Apollo StuffApollo Stuff
Apollo Stuff

The Apollo Program stuff is the thing I liked the most. They have one building dedicated to that program. In this room they simulated one of the Appollo launches. It was cool.
Apollo Stuff - Pic 2Apollo Stuff - Pic 2
Apollo Stuff - Pic 2

This is a full size rocket replica used in the Apollo missions. The signs hanging to the right of the rocket has the number of the Apollo mission and the members on that mission.
Apollo Stuff - Pic 3Apollo Stuff - Pic 3
Apollo Stuff - Pic 3

One of those signs explained in previous pic.
I love ManateesI love Manatees
I love Manatees

There is one building with stuff regarding the surrounding refuge. Manatees are awesome creatures so I slip their photos in at every chance.
Handcrafted KayaksHandcrafted Kayaks
Handcrafted Kayaks

I thought Lonn would appreciate this photo. If anyone out there runs into Lonn show him these baby's. They were in the parking lot at Cape Canaveral.


15th February 2007

just like Dad
Are you putting the date on these or are you losing track of time like your retired Dad .
15th February 2007

I saw the mistake and fixed it. The default date is the time when your entering the information. I was just hurrying.

Tot: 0.501s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 23; qc: 103; dbt: 0.1201s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb