St. Augustine to Clearwater Beach


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Clearwater
January 29th 2007
Published: February 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

St. Augustine to Clearwater Beach


SunsetSunsetSunset

First night sunset in Clearwater Beach.
1/29/07
The drive to Clearwater Beach was pretty cool. To get to Clearwater Beach you drive through Tampa. To me it looked like a City in California. Palm Trees lining all the roads and water everywhere. It was great. Made it to the Hostel around 5:30 and checked in. I hurriedly went to the Beach to see the sunset. The sunset was pretty cool. I went out and had a couple beers and went to bed around 11:00.

1/30/07
Got up pretty early and worked on the Travelblog for several hours. There were a lot of people cooking at this Hostel and several extended stayers living there. Like all the other Hostels everybody was very nice. Around 10:00 decided to bike to Honeymoon Island. There are lots of great bike paths in this area. Pinellas Trail is awesome and very long. It is 3 bike lanes wide. At Honeymoon Island there were lots of Osprey and lots of people picking up seashells. The shells were awesome. On the way back to the Hostel I was going pretty fast down a sidewalk and crossed over the road to get on an elevated pathway to the bridge to Clearwater Beach. When I
Yankee's Spring TrainingYankee's Spring TrainingYankee's Spring Training

Boooo! This is a sign in Tampa!
crossed the road I just assumed there would be a ramp from the road to the pathway, but I saw at the last second there wasn’t just a curb. I popped a wheelie to get the front wheel over the curb, but the back wheel hit the curb hard and then I couldn’t get stopped quick enough and was headed for this railing along the path. At the last second I jumped from the bike and sacrificed the bike a little as it hit the railing pretty hard and the bike and I fell amongst the flowers. As I regained my composure I looked around to see if anyone saw the craziness. Fortunately, no one saw it and the bike appeared to be unscathed. I was lucky.

Made it back to the Hostel pretty wore out that night. Decided to head for a happy hour. A bar had $0.25 half shell oysters or buffalo wings or shrimp. I ate about 12 oysters for just $3.00 and had about 3 drafts. Definitely got a lot of bang for the buck. Went back to the Hostel and worked on the Travel blog for awhile and went to bed around 11:00.
ClearwaterClearwaterClearwater

I drove right through Clearwater to Clearwater Beach.

1/31/07
Went to the Phillies spring training camp. Went to Jack Russell stadium first only to learn this was the old Spring Training Camp. Got directions to the new one and rode there. It was a lot farther than I had expected. Probably road 10 miles to get there. Butt was a little sore, because of the prior days ride. Phillies spring training stadium is awesome. Baseball is definitely profitable. Stopped at a Mexican diner called Jose’s for lunch. Really enjoyed the food and enjoyed talking to the workers. The art work at this place was really good. I took a pic of a couple wokers and got some of the artwork in the background. Decided to head out on the town that night since it was the last night. Stayed out too late and spent too much money. It was fun. I talked to an Israeli man who was at the Hostel about Middle East issues. I enjoyed this immensely.




Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

BridgesBridges
Bridges

The bridge to right transports traffic from Clearwater to Clearwater Beach. The circular path is a spiral down from bridge to ground for pedestrians and bikes.
Interesting SailboatInteresting Sailboat
Interesting Sailboat

I have never seen boats that have a back compartment like that. Interesting? Not sure I would like it. How do you get off and on for swimming?
London Bridges?London Bridges?
London Bridges?

I was tempted to ramp off the bridge and jump the water as the bridge lowered, but thought that would be showing off so I didn't.
Big Fish ApparatusBig Fish Apparatus
Big Fish Apparatus

This guy would catch a big fish and then drive up the shore to pull the fish out of the water. Interesting method of fishing. Believe me? See the bird on the roof?
London Bridges?London Bridges?
London Bridges?

I was tempted to ramp off the bridge and jump the water as the bridge lowered, but thought that would be showing off so I didn't.
Not on HoneymoonNot on Honeymoon
Not on Honeymoon

This is the name of the island north of Clearwater Beach. Not sure how they came up with the name. Great place to find sea shells if your into that!
Suzy Would have a Hay DaySuzy Would have a Hay Day
Suzy Would have a Hay Day

Lots of shells on this Island!
Equal Rights for Bicycles!Equal Rights for Bicycles!
Equal Rights for Bicycles!

Bicycles have feelings too!
OspreyOsprey
Osprey

Lots of Osprey on this Island
Wipe OutWipe Out
Wipe Out

I came down this street fast thinking there would be a ramp from the street to the sidewalk. There wasn't. I ended up jumping off the bike and landed in the flowers to the right, while I let my bike hit the railing hard. The bike and I are both doing fine!
Clearwater Beach Clearwater Beach
Clearwater Beach

It's pretty down there!
Phillies Spring Training CampPhillies Spring Training Camp
Phillies Spring Training Camp

I went to great lengths to get this picture only to find out this is the Phillies old Spring Training Camp.
New Phillies ParkNew Phillies Park
New Phillies Park

Ok, now this is more like what I had imagined for a major league spring training facility. The guy in the picture is Steve Carlton.
Outfield RidingOutfield Riding
Outfield Riding

I rode my bike in the outfield of the Park until the Philly Fanatic came out and tackled me.
Occupation?Occupation?
Occupation?

What do these guys do? I hope I never need there services!
Luv the BrideLuv the Bride
Luv the Bride

What can I say the man luvs the bridge!
HostellersHostellers
Hostellers

From the left an Israeli, a Brit and a resident of Seattle looking for warmer weather. I spoke with the Israeli man one night for an extended period of time about the Middle East. Cool conversation!


Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0318s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb