45 days and counting


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Orlando
February 5th 2010
Published: February 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Plane ticket has been purchased. As of last Saturday I purchased my airfare to San Jose, Costa Rica!
Allow me to explain.... in November 2009 I booked a trip to Costa Rica, a volunteer trip. A trip which I'd take alone. I've traveled plenty of places in my life, but I've always wanted to travel somewhere alone. I think its healthy to take ones self outside of their comfort zone.

Anyway, I was sitting at work one day, listening to the other girls in my office all giddy about their upcoming engagements, weddings, and baby showers. Mind you, they are all 25 and younger. And myself, being 26, single, dateless, and bored in my life sat there....listening. "There has to be more to life than all this brew-ha-ha" I thought. I was a girl ready for adventure, ready to see the world, ready to....get out of this romance hell.

Why a volunteer trip? You ask. Well, over the past several months, since my breakup, I've stepped out of my comfort zone and began to volunteer at several places. The homeless shelter, working w/ horses and underprivildged and handicapped children, and still trying to get in with the humane society. Despite working my 2 jobs and crazy hours, I somehow managed to get out there and volunteer. Life is no longer about "ME". Life is not about material possessions. Life is not about trying to get ahead of the Joneses. And life, certainly isnt about ignoring those less infortunate than I.

As someone who likes to travel, I'd like to see the world. And not just the "safe" places, not just the "tourist" places, but the ENTIRE world. And I cant stand Americans who go to third world countries, ignore the poverty and underdeveloped nations just to see "the sights" stay in luxory hotels and then head back on their merry way. I....WE, can make a difference. I decided to start off small. I googled "volunteering abroad w/ animals" I am the biggest animal lover. My degree is going to be in veterinary medicine and then hopefully to go on to work w/ exotic animals.

A volunteer group popped up. I'd go abroad for a few days, weeks, months, whatever I could afford, and work w/ animals. Only, what country? What kind of animal? Hell, what continent? I choose Costa Rica for several reasons. One, its close proximoty to Florida. Flight time is approx three hours. It takes me longer to fly home to Texas. Two, flight prices were relatively cheap/ $200 as opposed to $700 flight to Peru or even $1500 flight to Australia! Plus, the duration of the trip is one week. I cant afford to be gone from school or work much longer than that. Everyone thinks its my schools spring break....alas, it is not. I am missing school for a whole week. And what animal? you ask. Sea Turtle Conservation! I will be staying on the beaches of Costa Rica and Panama basically saving the baby turtles from potential poachers and moving them from location to location during the evening. They are so cute as babies. I will be staying in a dorm/hostel like setting with people Ive never met before, limited electricity, no tv, internet, and no makeup. I am not bringing my makeup or hair dryer/straightner!! How will I survive? lol

So I found the volunteer group on a Thursday, by the following Monday, I booked. I'd had my slot in the group. I didnt give myself much time to "think about it" in case I'd talk myself out of it and go back to being one of those LAME people who are too scared to take risks.

I waited quite a while to tell my parents, and certain friends I'd be going. I was afraid of "retaliation" well...basically afraid of jealousy and people being angry I was leaving the country YET AGAIN and they werent.....but oh well. I get to hear about everyone's lame wedding stories....about time someone gets to hear my travel stories! I was also afraid that people would be up in my business "warning" me that a female shouldnt go alone, blah blah blah.

In a few months, for my graduation present to myself, I'm thinking Ecuador, Peru or India....or just Amsterdam for the shear fun of it. I'd also love to get myself down to Haiti and help rebuild. I'd love to work w/ communities in Peru, orphaned animals and children in India, abandoned communities in Ecuador, etc. Like I said before, life isnt about me, it's about what I can do to make an impact in this life.

45 more days!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.073s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0227s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 7; ; mem: 1mb