Auld Lang Syne in Grand Style


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Orlando
January 6th 2008
Published: January 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Happy 2008 everybody!!!

I am sat on my sofa slowly recovering from a crazy crazy week of saying hello to the New Year and goodbye to a lot of my friends as their programs end and they head home to all 4 corners of the globe. So it's been a week of mixed emotions for everyone. I'm excited for 2008 and the rest of my program, but very sad to see most of my friends leave.

Christmas Day was a lot of fun, albeit completely different to any other Christmas I've ever had! I had 3 - count 'em! - Christmas dinners, all of them on Christmas Eve. All my roommates are from South America and it is their tradition to eat Christmas dinner at midnight on Christmas Eve, so we attempted to cook a turkey in our rather crappy Vista Way oven. 7 hours later...it was still uncooked in the middle!! So we improvised by, erm, carving up the turkey and frying it. Not exactly a classic Christmas dinner, but it still tasted pretty good! Then we were provided by some musical entertainment by the Puerto Ricans who live on Vista - apparently in Puerto Rico it is tradition to bang drums and make music and sing at midnight on Christmas Eve, and they were doing so with gusto. It was awesome!! Christmas Day itself was a fairly relaxed affair. I chilled out at home most of the day, opening my lovely presents that my family had sent, then headed to work at 4pm where I proceeded to do pretty much nothing - cos nobody was really checking in on Christmas Day itself!!

One week later and the next big festive holiday hit - New Year!! Considering I have spent the last five December 31sts at the club in Northallerton, NYE at Disney was always going to be a bit different, and this was definitely a little less hectic than back home. I was at work until 1030pm, then changed into my favourite pink dress and hung out in the main lobby with some yummy champagne and watched the lovely balloon drop at midnight. After that I headed over to Celebration for a party bash with people from Concierge. It was a loooooot of fun, and not too strenuous either 😊

The rest of this week has been spent saying goodbye to a lot of people who have left this week. Me and Hank went to Kona Cafe for his 30th birthday and then we went to Buffalo Wild Wings to party with some other Grand folks. There's been a LOT of parties, and not a lot of sleeping - just like the old days in 2006! I'm very sad that everyone has left, but I know we will keep in touch and that the new College Programmers will be awesome too, so I'm just trying to look forward to what's coming up! Biggest news recently has been the arrival, finally, of my car!!! She is Charlotte the Chevy and she is lovely. Having a car, even though it's only been for a week, has made life so much better. It no longer takes me an hour and a half to get home from work, it takes twenty minutes, and I can go to places like Celebration or the beach or Sea World that are virtually impossible to get to without wheels. I'm very happy!

That's all for now...my friends Lauren and Kat arrive this Thursday for 2 weeks to celebrate my 24th birthday, which I'm very excited about!! I'm sure there will be lots to report 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



16th January 2008

OH MY GOD! Look at you in your uniform - you look v. posh! Hehe! Love it!

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0447s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb