January in Orlando means Birthdays & Birthday Parties!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Orlando
February 3rd 2008
Published: February 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

At last, I finally get to sit down and tell you all about the crazy last few weeks!!

Ever since January 10th - when my last few College Program buddies went back to their home countries, but the United States was bombarded by Lauren & Kat's arrival - it's all been pretty much non-stop here. I was lucky enough to get 9 days off work so I could spend time with my friends, and discovered that it is definitely more exhausting being a tourist in Disney than working there!! The first few days the girls were here we hit Animal Kingdom and Sea World, as well as indulging in the classic girly activity of SHOPPING! (Hard to resist when the exchange rate is so good...) My feet were killing me after only a couple of days walking miles and miles around the parks!

On the 16th it was, of course, my 24th birthday - and if I'm going to milk my birthday anywhere, what better place than at Walt Disney World? ;o) The day before we went to Universal Studios and Islands of Adventure to ride some crazy rollercoasters and laugh at the Cat in the Hat, then went to Ale House in the evening to meet up with some people from work and have (free) birthday drinks!! It was really fun to hang out with the folks from the Grand and party for my birthday. The next day - my actual birthday - me and Kat and Lauren went to have breakfast with Mary Poppins, Tigger and Pooh at 1900 Park Fare. It was my first character dining since I was ten, so it was a little weird - and we experienced the worst British accents in history from Mary Poppins and Alice!! But the food was great and I got a birthday tiara and birthday cake, so I was very excited. Later on in the afternoon - after a seagull ate my birthday cake while I was lazing around in a hammock!! - we went to the Grand's Spa & Health Club for a 50-minute swedish massage. It...was...divine!!! I can't remember the last time I was so utterly relaxed. The massage was fantastic and we hung out in the hot tub and sauna for a bit as well. I had such a wonderful day, it was fantastically relaxing and unlike anything I've done for my birthday so far.

And this being Disney, I could definitely milk my birthday for all it was worth!! On Thursday night I took Lauren & Kat to the regular College Program night in Pleasure Island which was a lot of fun, before a more sophisticated evening back at the Grand at my favourite restaurant, Citricos. The advice I always give the birthday kids at the desk, to milk the birthday badge as much as possible, paid off and I got the most spectacular tiramisu dessert with happy birthday written in chocolate 😊 Our final big do before the girls went home was to go to the first Pirate & Princess Party at the Magic Kingdom. We dressed up as Pirate princesses - complete with flashing tiaras and bendy plastic daggers - and invaded the park!! Highlight of the evening - highlight of my life even? - was meeting the one, the only, Captain Jack Sparrow. Huh-muh-na. One of the few experiences to render me speechless! We collected treasure from spots around the kingdom and watched some breakdancers who were completely amazing. Then we did the Cha Cha Slide, at 1130pm, in the middle of Tomorrowland surrounded by 5 year old girls dressed as princesses. How many people can say they've done that?

I was very sad when Lauren & Kat had to go home eventually, but now there's yet more things to look forward to. I am being moved to Concierge in a couple of weeks' time which is a very exciting opportunity for me and will give me even more experience within the Grand. AND I've been training some new Cast Members for the Front Desk too, which I like cos I can leave a little legacy when I leave, at least I hope so 😊

Sorry it's been so long since my last entry...I promise not to leave it so long next time!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



14th February 2008

hahaha!
aaaaah the cha cha slide....what a song! so much fun! i would just like to say jones that you missed out the best comment of the week...."look theres men over there!!!" hehe...you are a hussy! miss you lots....think i might just walk out of my job and come back to florida...can i hide out in your wardrobe??xxx

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0544s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb