Arrival in Orlando


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Orlando
October 8th 2007
Published: October 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Vista from the airVista from the airVista from the air

This is my apartment complex, Vista Way in Florida...
It's 5:07am here in apartment 206, Vista Way and jetlag has kicked in (my body, exhausted though it is, thinking it is 10:07am and therefore time to get up) so now seemed like the perfect opportunity to tell you all about my trip over here.

I was not a big fan of the 330am start!!! Especially as the night before I had been up til midnight with some friends who had come to say one last goodbye...but, that of course was worth it :o) Me and mum made our way, half-asleep, to check-in for 5am. I have never seen Heathrow so quiet in my life. Saying bye to mum was really, really hard, so I cheered myself up in the departure lounge with a few random purchases.

My flights were amazingly fine. The flight to Chicago was an hour early and I had half a row to myself so I could lie down, huzzah! By the time I got on my connecting flight to Orlando, I just wanted to get there so it seemed to take ages, but it was OK. At the airport I met some Brazilian girls here doing the same thing, and we went to the International Programs desk and got our bus to Vista.

Here is where a few problems arose!! Firstly I need to explain how apartments in these places work. Disney separate apartments into male and female, then under-21 and over-21, because of the very strict drinking laws in the US. However...I have been placed in an apartment with 5 18-year olds!!! This poses several problems, as not only would I be unable to have a beer in my own flat without getting fired, but there is also a maturity issue as I'm nearly 6 years older than them - depressingly!! So my first task later on today is to try and get moved into an apartment with people my own age. All the girls in here, whilst very nice, are all Hispanic and so speak to each other in Spanish the whole time. I fear I may get a little lonely if I stay in this flat, so I'm gonna try and get moved!!

Anyway, today I get my housing ID and have my visa paperwork examined by Disney to make sure it's all in order. I suppose, therefore, I better go back to bed and get a bit more kip before I really do have to get up! Just wanted to let you know that I'm here, and I'm OK!!

Advertisement



8th October 2007

nice work jess, keep up the blogging... tooo easy. hope u manage to get moved. mattt.

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0598s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb