Settling in


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Orlando
October 9th 2007
Published: October 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello!

Well day 3 at Disney and it's still very hot, very humid and very sunny. Not that I'm rubbing it in or anything!!

Housing update: I have to stay in my wellness apartment (i.e. under-21s, i.e. alcohol-free) for 3 weeks minimum before I can be moved, and that is subject to availability. This is pretty annoying, but luckily the girls who are in this apartment are really nice, so it's not all bad news. Fortunately I have somewhere else to store my beers!!

In other news, I have been up to my eyeballs in various bits of paperwork. Still. Even after getting here! Fortunately, paperwork days are now (hopefully) over. All our immigration papers have been checked over about 30 times, I've opened a bank account, sold my soul to Disney for the second time, and I'm now all set.

The really exciting bit about today was finding out where I was going to be working. After the various dramas of the past few days I figured I was due a lucky break...and it turns out I was right!! I will be working front desk at the Grand Floridian. From former Cast Members and anyone who has stayed there I expect suitably envious gasps!! For everyone else, let me explain: the Grand Floridian is WDW's flagship hotel and as such is huge, sumptuous and expensive. It's also where all the famous people stay!! Put it this way - if you're gonna work Front Desk for 6 months, you want to be at the Grand Flo. And I REALLY wanted to be at the Grand Flo, so obviously I am feeling pretty pleased right now.

Work officially starts tomorrow with Traditions, which is a 4-hour class that every cast member (including the execs) have to take before they start working for the Mouse. I've already done it, so it'll be pretty dull (and involves getting up at 545am!!) but I will obtain two crucial items during the session - my work ID (which allows me to get into the parks for FREE!) and my nametag, which is the really exciting bit for me. And this year it'll have where I'm from on it, so I can advertise my adopted Yorkshire-ness to all the guests!!

Other than work-related stuff, I have been finally unpacking as it looks like I'll be staying put for a while. To alleviate homesickness I went slightly pink crazy in Walmart and bought a hot pink satin duvet and pillow case. With pale pink sheets. Really. Well if you can't be uber-pink in Disney, where can you?

Well now it is time for me to go and get Disney-fied. I'm going to Downtown Disney for dinner, which will be the first Disney place I've visited so far. Time to get into the spirit!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

My housing IDMy housing ID
My housing ID

Last year my ID to get into my apartment complex was boring, and blue, and had a horrible photo of me. This one still has a horrible photo, but it's PINK!! There's a pattern emerging...


11th October 2007

grrrrr
I am so jealous Jess!

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb