Travels with Snowbirds 2012 Ocala FL


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Ocala
February 10th 2012
Published: February 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Friday February 10, 2012

Ocala Sun RV Resort

Brrrrr it was cold this morning. Quick walk for Winston, shower for me, and into the rec hall for breakfast, sausage and waffles. Yummy. This LOW club, MidLows, finds campgrounds that offer reasonably priced campsites and a rec hall with cooking facilities so the host can prepare meals for us. Campers pay $5 fee for the luxury of having someone cook, but all chip in to rearrange furniture, do the dishes, etc. It’s a nice camaraderie feeling here. Immediately after breakfast I went with Bobbi, driving, and Kathy E, also passenger, to the Market at Marion. I love this flea market. Much of it is covered; cement floors, but open sides, so you are outside, but not really. There are outside vendors, but not so many on Friday. There is a good assortment of everything from junk, to tools, to puppies, to oranges, to boiled peanuts, to sunglasses, etc. I walked the whole thing and my hips ached. I bought a small level and 6 rubber alligators – remember the Dollar Store quest of yesterday? Pat is a happy camper, she loves them! Kathy bought fresh produce; she’s been on the road for a while and craves something fresh. Winston must have barked a lot – spit everywhere inside the crate, but he was fine.

At 2:30 the club President, Karen, held a round table discussion so we could share our website experiences, such as this one, travelblog.org, roadsideamerica.com, goodsamclub.com to route trips, etc. I paid my dues and joined this chapter, then volunteered to set up a facebook page for them. Cool! I might have gained some new readers of my blog, as club members were very interested in checking it out.

The hostesses prepared wonderful chili with garlic bread and ice cream. The chapter business meeting took place after dinner, and it was nice to be welcomed to the group. Many asked me to join them at their next campout, but it’s too far into March and I will be home in NC by then.

After dinner I walked outside to, surprise, rain! Winston was not barking; he seems to do better when it is darker out. I quickly walked him then settled here in front of the computer to catch up on home things, pay bills, etc.

I like being nice and tucked in my rig in the rain, I love the sound of it hitting the roof. Tomorrow it is supposed to cool down, getting to the hi 20s tomorrow night. Brrrrrrr

Kat out

Advertisement



Tot: 0.354s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1538s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb