Travels with Snowbirds Ocala FL


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Ocala
February 9th 2012
Published: February 10th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Thursday February 9, 2012

It got cold last night. There really is a climate change being this far north in the state. The Ocala area is greener, gets more rain and there are no more orange trees, the scenery has changed to massive beautiful horse farms. And, cold at night.

Continental breakfast at 8:30, followed by some games in the rec hall. I have now learned how to play Mexican Train (dominos) Chicken Foot (more dominos) and Farkle in addition to last nights 31. You can teach an old broad new tricks. After lunch I joined Pat and Beth in a trip to 2 different Dollar Stores – Pat was looking for rubber alligators for a game for a future campout. 3:30 cocktail hour brought 20 of us together for lively conversation, a lot of laughs, a $9 50/50 and finalizing dinner out plans. Leave at 5:15 so we can arrive before the early bird specials expire – you know these seniors and their early bird specials.

Kathy E arrived at 5:00, and they put her way up the other end from me, so I insisted they move her next to me. Then she grabbed her LOW ID badge, money and off we went. Cody’s it was – the same restaurant, different location, as Sunday. 2 for 1 drinks (red wine) great bread and salad, steak, baked potato, under $20 tip included. There were 18 of us at 2 tables, and the waiter did not complain about all the separate checks. I was driven by Marvin, who won the Daytona 500 in 1961. His driving style does indicate his beloved type of driving!!! (He pointed out along the way that all the fences in Ocala are black, which indicates a farm. If the fences are white, that’s decorative, and the taxes are higher because it’s not a farm. Go figure.) I sat across from Gene who shared with me his medical issues since 2009. I asked him if I could include a shortened version in my blog – here goes to the best of my recollection. In 2008 one kidney failed. Then he developed some type of non cancerous colon issue requiring a colostomy. In early 2009 the other kidney failed. He went on dialysis and got on the transplant wait list. He left his home and moved to a mobile home right next to his daughter’s – they have an adjoining deck/pool. He tried to live normally while waiting, and went camping to SC. His MD was on the east coast of FL, his hospital was Tampa (west coast) General which has a very large transplant department. While on the camping trip, he got the call – but had to have his heart cleared. He got to Tampa, got his heart cleared and was on the operating table in one day. His donor was in a fatal car accident and his organs were being harvested for donation. He woke up from surgery without the colostomy and with a new kidney to hear his daughter say he was producing urine and he was finally able to relax. His recovery started well, but his incision opened from the inside, requiring a drain and 2 months of cleaning packing, new dressings, etc. He moved his RV to 4 miles from the hospital and the visiting nurse came daily. I never even thought about this, but when you get a new kidney, they put it in your abdomen – they don’t remove the old ones, and that’s the area that had the issue. He now goes regularly for heart checkups, but his kidney issues are now over. He feels that whatever the colon issue was caused the buildup of large amounts of fluid in his abdomen poisoning his kidneys. He is very religious, and knows prayer helped him recover. He is now 70. His medical bills were about $790,000. The only thing he had to pay for was drugs that were administered for use outside the hospital. Amazing story. He now watches his 4 y/o grand daughter every day after school. Yup, amazing story.

Back at Ocala Sun RV Resort we found that a big bus rig big enough to block the sky moved in between me and Kathy. There is hardly enough room. Now I am so sorry that I had her move from where she was, Sorry, Kathy. This rig truly does block my morning sun; my rig will not warm naturally tomorrow for sure. Winston was asleep when I returned. The first time that has ever happened to my knowledge. I could tell because there was no spittle/drool on his bed inside the crate, and his mouth and nose were dry. Was it because it got dark??? I left my ipod blaring in it’s player? He was worn out? Who knows.

I talked to Ginnie, the weather is warm in Wauchula where she is, about 120 miles south of where we are now, and she is waiting our arrival on Sunday.

A large group is going to The (flea) Market at Marion tomorrow. I am thrilled.

Kat out

Advertisement



Tot: 0.285s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1823s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb