Travels with Snowbirds 2012 Palm Harbor to Ocala FL


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Ocala
February 8th 2012
Published: February 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Wednesday February 8, 2012

Palm Harbor FL to Ocala, FL

I slept like a rock last night. I think the animals wore me out as well as themselves. I was up and out early. Garmina and Siri both failed me this morning. I could not force either one of them to get me to I75 northbound without going on The Toll Road. Garmina went ballistic when I made a turn, and finally had to turn her off. I have a vague familiarity with this part of FL, and knew if I headed north and east I would eventually hit it. I pointed my nose and went.

Then I had a brilliant idea, find a post office and mail the grandkids Valentine cards, then turn Garmina back on and find I75. I ended up passing thru Land O’ Lakes (sounds like butter, doesn’t it) and saw the sign for Post Office, stopping at McDonald’s for breakfast – this post office was 5 miles down this road. Garmina was still cursing at me, so I asked the Terminix truck driver next to me, and she said I75 was 5 miles down the road I was on!!!! How cool is that. I think I know more about this part of FL than I do about Wilmington, NC!!!! I knew off one of the I75 exits was a Walmart AND Fresh Market, but I was daydreaming (listening to Pillars of the Earth) or talking on the phone and missed exit 329. Next exit 341, was the one I needed for the new campground. Hit Garmina up for a grocery store, and yup, no grocery store off 341, all off 329. GROWL. I found a Publix with Siri, 9 miles away (I should have gone back to the last exit) and stocked up for the next four days. Oh yes, a post office was right next to Publix. If I had only known.

I landed at Ocala Sun RV resort about 2, and was greeted by lots of fellow Loners on Wheels some new friends and some old friends. Good to see a lot of familiar faces. An easy hookup here at this campground. I have been here before, with my first ever RV Rally some years ago when I had my Class B Coachmen. There are some really nice paved campsites around the perimeter, but in the center are nice wide open spaces where rigs park road to road, alternating which way they face. It makes for a nice arrangement, your backs end up being near each other, and there is a full campsite width between you and the next rig. Plenty of room, until your inconsiderate neighbor has to pull their car up behind their rig, right smack next to your rug. GROWL, phoey on you you big Class A. I hope my dog barks all day long tomorrow.

Happy hour at 3 and I got to meet more people. There are about 16 here now, 8 more expected tomorrow, including my PennJ low friend, Kathy E. She just started her snowbird trip last week and is off having a goonie adventure in Jacksonville with an old friend and I can’t wait to hear the details when she arrives tomorrow. Tee Hee. Lots of laughter and catching up at happy hour. I left Winston on his long lead outside, and he was pretty good (no animals at happy hour). When he started to bark I put him in his crate and turned on the A/C and didn’t care at all. Some of the group went out to Cracker Barrel for dinner, I declined, I already had meatballs thawing and really had a craving, and didn’t want to overeat after what I have consumed the past 3 days.

How refreashing. I just turned on ABC News/Diane Sawyer, and to see Mitt and Newt take a hit by Rick. At least he has a normal name.

I need to backtrack for 2 stories. Home heating oil and American Express.

My NJ realtor has been nagging me to get oil in the house as it was approaching ¼ tank. I decided I would call and get the best price rather than just call Lawes, my previous supplier. I called 5 dealers relatively close to my home. I let my fingers do the keyboarding and found 3 in Red Bank. What I didn’t realize is that they all have the same address, 9 Central Ave, Red Bank. Different people answered the phone, each with the right name. Their price was all the same, $3.89/gal. Then I called Atlantic Oil in Atlantic Highlands, $3.71, yes they took credit cards, yes they would deliver on a one time basis. Finally I called my former supplier, Lawes of Shrewsbury. $4.49/gal. Huh? They have been nagging my realtor to do a fillup at my house, and I strongly encouraged Marie not to talk to them anymore, to refer them to me. First off, they never came and did a service/tune up before I left, even though they SWORE they would be there before December, and now their oil is $.78 more expensive than what I bought. Let the buyer beware.

I was on a roll yesterday, I think my dealings with Lazydays gave me a new found courage. My next call was to American Express. My annual Gold card renewal is due in March, and after all these years I sadly made the decision to save the $150 and give it up. Well, they sure don’t want to lose you. What deals they have – they even offered me a senior card!!!! Then, when I mentioned how happy I was with my new Discover Card, my customer service rep, Donna Donna Primadonna I called her, went into heavy sales mode, offering me a package that would duplicate the cashback rewards offered by Discover. They sent me volumes of email so I could compare the 2 cards, and I have until the end of March before I have to make a decision. In the meantime, I now have double points on gas, groceries, and restaurants. It will be a tough choice which card to use, cashback vs double points, especially when I am on the road eating out and buying so much gas.

Yummy, soft serve ice cream man just drove thru. Guess what’s for desert!!!!! Twist in a waffle cone!

The evening’s activities involved games in the clubhouse. I watched 31 and rummicubes (?sp?) then joined in for Mexican Train, a domino’s type game. I won the first game I played, lol, beginner’s luck for sure. Winston was in his crate, and was barking when I walked up.

This LOW club provides continental breakfast at 8 tomorrow, and there is some kind of activity planned for during the day. There is some talk about a group going to the (flea) Market at Marion, a very large covered but outdoor market. Should all be fun.

Kat out

Advertisement



Tot: 0.203s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.113s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb