Life's a Beach


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Naples
February 7th 2014
Published: February 8th 2014
Edit Blog Post

It was a sad morning. My cocktail friends were leaving the park today. Leslie and Mark from Minnesota decided they were heading north. Mark wanted to go to the Keys for a short while and Leslie was missing her grandkids back home so it appears going home won out. Mike was from New Brunswick, Canada and he was heading to his sister’s house in Tampa to leave his camper and car and head out for an Elder Hostel trip to Costa Rica. Mike had a trailer that was called an A liner and when assembled it was like an A frame house.Picture. It had lots of windows, in the form of sky lights, and seemed very open and roomy for being a little trailer. When folded up it was the same height as his car. Really neat set up.

I walked Oscar and decided it was my last chance to see the Gulf so I packed my bag and headed east to Marco Island. I stopped for a sandwich and found the public parking with lots of spots open, I even found one in the shade. Parking was $8.00 but the beach was free so how can you loose.
The water was SO blue and sand so white, wow what a sight. The sand is made up of broken shells so it was hard but not harsh on your feet. I picked my spot and sat for 2 min til the urge pushed me to jump in the water. It was cold at first but sure felt good and before I knew it I was all wet and floating and swimming around having the time of my life.
Then the shells started calling my name. I had seen a wind chime at a store made from shells and I thought I could do that so I had a reason to collect, and collect I did. There were other crazy tourists doing the same thing and getting sunburned butts in the process.Then it was time for lunch.
I got my sandwich out and was just unwrapping it when I was hit by something from above. A seagull had flown from behind me and timed the unwrapping perfectly. He got a small bite before I realized what was happening and from then on I had to lean over my lunch to guard it. I had a wonderful 3 hrs on the beach but Oscar was waiting and my skin had enough sun so I headed home.
Upon arrival I met my new neighbors who were 2 women involved in the blue grass festival that was being held this weekend. I really lucked out being here for all the festivities and looked forward to participating in the goings on. They invited me to join them tonight for their jamming session and how could I refuse! But first there was the ice cream social with music after. You all know I can’t turn down ice cream and the music after was very enjoyable. But I kept thinking about the neighbors.
So I headed home, got a drink and my chair and joined the group by the fire. Mind you, the fire was not to keep warm but to keep the mosquitoes away. It didn’t do a great job.
I was included in the group immediately and became part of the jamming session that rocked the night.
There was a woman playing the violin “fiddle” who had formal training as a young person and as the evening progressed she reverted to that training. What a talent..A man that played the guitar and had a great voice and magical fingers on the strings. Another woman that played the guitar, mandolin, and base that had a beautiful voice as well. Then the banjo player arrived. She was incredible! They sang for 2 hours while passing around moon shine from 2 different brewers. One smell and the hair in your nose curled. I guess you should just drink it. There were people that came to listen sitting on the picnic tables and benches like bleachers. The moon shine was passed around as freely as the bug spray, the trick was to keep both away form the fire.
The musicians were so into their music that they grouped together to hear each other and their eyes were closed, fully absorbed in their talent. What an incredible experience to be part of this. I was feeling sad earlier for the loss of the people I had met and here was a whole new experience waiting for me. WOW.
At 10:30 the ranger came by and asked us to keep the noise down so we dispersed to do it again tomorrow.
It is now 11:30pm and I’m excited and rejuvenated, can’t wait for the program tomorrow.

When I came to this park I was really disappointed in it but now that’s all changed. I need to give a place a chance. Every park has it’s own special magic.

I feel incredibly grateful to be here in the warmth of FL and surrounded by people who are the salt of the earth.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.295s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 101; dbt: 0.1821s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb