Easy Day


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Naples
February 6th 2014
Published: February 7th 2014
Edit Blog Post

It was another lovely slow start to the day. Shower first thing then a very leisurely cup of coffee and caught up on the local and at home weather on the computer. Can’t believe there’s snow again. I really hate to tell you that it’s 67 at night and 85 during the day with beautiful sunshine most of the day.

After Oscar’s walk and some conversation with my neighbor, I decided today was the air boat ride day. I called and made a reservation for 1 pm which was only an hour from now. Made a sandwich, put on the a c for Oscar and collected my stuff for the outing.

The ride was an hour of riding through the grass swamps and mangrove forests and chasing birds from their food finding duties. We saw one little gator. It was a nice experience but less then what I had expected. But after the ride I got to hold their 4 yr old baby alligator, and yes it was alive. So now I can say I got up close and personal with a gator. And I found out that the bird I saw yesterday was a glossy ibis, another picture today.

On my way home I stopped a few times to gather information and went to a gift shop but nothing had to come home with me.
The neighbors came for happy hour again and each got to share their excitement for the day. Poor Mike was so badly bitten by some bug that he had to go to Napels and get something to relieve the itch.

Again the mosquitoes dictated when we had to go in so that broke up happy hour just in time for dinner.
I think I can get some of the Olympics on the computer tonight, so that will be enjoyable.

It was a relatively quiet day, very enjoyable and warm.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Up close and personalUp close and personal
Up close and personal

He is real and alive
roseate spoonbillroseate spoonbill
roseate spoonbill

This shows his bill really well
glossy ibusglossy ibus
glossy ibus

the bird in yesterday's blog that was a mystery was a glossy ibus


Tot: 0.286s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 98; dbt: 0.1844s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb