Back Again in Boot Key


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Keys » Marathon
January 25th 2011
Published: January 25th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Birthday CakeBirthday CakeBirthday Cake

My baby brother is 55. Why are there monkeys on his cake?
Well, I’m back. Have you missed me?

My brother, Herb, picked me up on the 14th and took me to our mother’s house in Miami Springs for a visit. I spent a week with her and we had a good time playing Scrabble, Yahtzee, and SkipBo. Herb gave me his old bicycle and helped me fix up Dad’s old bike to bring back to Boot Key.

It sure is easier going to the grocery and other places on a bicycle. Long walks are not my cup of tea, but it’s been many years since I rode a bike. They say you never forget how, and that’s true, but that doesn’t mean I’m not a bit shaky riding. But, I’m getting better and it feels pretty good. I bought a backpack to carry things and that seems to be working out pretty well, too.

Kerry and Sara are playing softball this morning. While I was gone they played and both were on the injured list with sore muscles, maybe slight muscle strains. So today they’re both back at it. Hopefully they won’t require medical attention.

On Saturday we went to the Health Fair at the local hospital and
HerbHerbHerb

on his birthday, still recovering from their motorcycle accident
got good checkups. It took a good portion of the day, but it was nice to have our eyes, blood pressure, blood sugar, cholesterol, and skin checked. It was in partnership with the University of Miami, so it was mostly med students, supervised by doctors.

Trevor has been gone for almost a week and a half, but is due back today. He went back to Tennessee to visit his family, friends and his orthodontist. Their friend, Thaddeus, is coming for a visit on the same flight from Chattanooga to Key West.

It has been quite breezy here, but pleasant. The dinghy ride to the marina can be a bit damp due to the chop from the wind, but what’s a few splashes. Kerry and Sara checked out some of the restaurants while Trevor and I were gone, and found some other activities to entertain them, such as bingo at the American Legion Hall.

So here in Boot Key life goes on in its nice, leisurely way. How nice is that?



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

PamPam
Pam

still recovering, too
Birthday wishesBirthday wishes
Birthday wishes

Mom made cake and I cooked shrimp scampi for Herb's birthday
Another sunsetAnother sunset
Another sunset

The sunsets can be quite beautiful here in Boot Key


25th January 2011

Nice family pics, Charlie. Glad you had the chance to be with your brother for his birthday. Hope he and Pam are on the mend. GORGEOUS SUNSETS.
25th January 2011

Tuesday
GREAT having you back, as no word from Kerry or Sara. Why no pictures of your Mom? Hope she's doing well too. Herb looks real good and so did Pam, glad they're doing well. Loved the sunset pictures---well, all the pictures---take care---love ya---gena
26th January 2011

BEST WISHES TO HERB ON HIS BIRTHDAY AND TO HERB AND PAM FOR A FASTER RECOVERY. LOVE AND MISS YOU TOO!

Tot: 0.25s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 69; dbt: 0.1002s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb