MOSH pit


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Jacksonville
November 26th 2007
Published: November 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

dinodinodino

A random dinosaur.
Up at around 9 and had breakfast at Denny's before finding out to my relief that there was a bus service into the town centre and I wouldn't have to pay a fortune for a cab.

As with all best laid plans though, I managed to miss my stop and ended up back at the Greyhound terminal. I knew the Museum of Science and History (or MOSH) was near though so decided to wander round and try to find it.

Came across a place called Jacksonville Landing which was a collection of restaurants, bars and shops which was nice if a bit dated. Thought about going to Hooters for a drink but decided it was far too early in the morning to be so sleazy. I didn't want to lower myself to JC's levels.

Crossed the bridge and found the museum easily enough. It was a bit disappointing to be honest; a small exhibit on the war, a section on the marine life around Florida, a science area clearly aimed at kids (which I quite enjoyed), a section on the history of the region, a mini zoo type section and, rather randomly, a skeleton of a Megalosaurus. A
turtleturtleturtle

A turtle's head.
dinosaur which apparently wasn't even resident to the East coast of the US, so why it was there, I have no idea.

They did however have a fairly cool planterium show, so I'll let them off.

Finished up around 3, and not wanting to go back to my motel to get murdered, I wandered round a bit longer. About 10 minutes longer in fact, because there appears to be nothing in Jacksonville. It's one of the biggest cities in the US by area, but clearly they need to work on putting some stuff in that big area.

Got the bus back fine, which suprised me, and only had 3 hours to kill before I felt it was a reasonable time to go to bed. Thank god for cable TV.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.064s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb