Like Gone With the Wind on Mescaline


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Georgia » Savannah
November 28th 2007
Published: November 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

boatboatboat

Steamboat Willy.
is how John Cusack describes Savannah in 'Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil'. Having never seen Gone With the Wind, nor taken Mescaline, I can't verify this statement. But I can confirm that Savannah is a pretty town, a colonial relic spared by the Union troops in the Civil War at a time when they were burning every city they took.

My journey here was fine, apart from my panic attack when I thought I saw my hotel a good 45 minutes before we got to the city. False alarm luckily. I'm still 15 minutes from the historic downtown region, but I'm also staying in a gorgeous hotel suite, nearly as big as my flat.

Today I got the bus into town which was a mission in itself, after my bus driver first stopped at an off licence (I don't want to know why), then pulled over to have a chat on his phone, then got out of the bus to finish his chat. I had a rough idea where I was so opted to walk the rest of the way at this point.

First stop was River Street in the historic district, a collection of
SpankysSpankysSpankys

It's no Spank-o-rama, but still made me laugh.
bars, restaurants and tourist shops, where I signed up for a cruise down the river on a paddleboat. This wasn't until 2, so I wandered rouns and got some lunch until the tie came.

The cruise was OK, though the guide focused a lot on telling us about the industry of the region (cotton and shipping) which didn't interest me that much to be honest.

After the cruise, and feeling I hadn't learnt much, I paid for a trolley car ride around the city, which was much more informative. The city is very pretty, and is set around 23 (there were 26) plush green squares, all with different signifiance. It's also where Forrest Gump was filmed, the scene where he's sat on the bench anyway.

After the trolley ride I took a walk around the shops, pausing only to pay a hobo to sing for me (Amazing Grace) before feeling I deserved a beer. So I stopped by Churchill's, a 'traditional' English pub for a couple of pints and pie and mash. Actually, it was fairly traditional - the tablemats they have are the same as my parents have back home.

Feeling a little tipsy, I got the bus home again, only to find (as was the case in Jacksonville) the buses go a different route in either direction. Luckily I kind of knew where I was so made it back OK and passed out on my bed a little too easily for someone who's only had 4 pints.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0508s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb