Jacksonville City Nights


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Jacksonville
November 25th 2007
Published: November 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Got up early this morning to watch the West Ham v. Spurs game. It's a long time since I've watched the mighty Spurs and I was pleased that nothing has changed and we are still as mediocre as when I left home.

Arrived at the Greyhound station just after midday for my 1.10 bus. However, being the Sunday after Thanksgiving, it was pretty busy, and the whole situation was very disorganised. Eventually I got on a bus about an hour late, and the traffic was bad as well, meaning I was about an hour and a half late into Jacksonville.

On the way, I noticed that the chief products of North Florida seem to be nuts and fireworks. Though I also saw a sign advertising camper vans for sale, by a guy called Dick Gore, which sounds more like a nasty STD to me.

Annoyingly, my hotel was miles out of town, and the Jaguars had an NFL game on that afternoon, so the taxi there cost me $40 (NB my bus fare was $7). The motel was a bit of a divem the kind of place you see on the news with the caption '7 dead in motel massacre'. The sign on the door warning me to keep the bolt on at all times did little to reassure me.

Found a decent ish place for dinner and was sat behind a fat (of course) guy from the deep south who was telling his friend how much he hated size zero women and liked 'big ol' girls with big ol' boobies'. On that note I went to my room to watch TV.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.194s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1524s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb