12 hours, highways, and good music


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Fort Myers
August 15th 2011
Published: August 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Spice GirlsSpice GirlsSpice Girls

a taste of the music we got into on the drive
On the road again! On the road again! :D This trip is going to be nonstop for the next 2 weeks and I love it! Seeing Alex again has been wonderful. She's a wonderful person doing great things and I'm so proud of her. The whole reason behind this road trip is to get her up to Buffalo, NY so she can start her PhD program in PT. I can just tell that she is so passionate about this path and that many people will benefit from her knowledge and heart in the future.

We left her home state of Florida this morning and have already gotten into minor mishaps. Google maps doesn't notify you when you should make a new move and we missed an exit. So as a result we ended up passing through the great town of Gainesville, FL, Gator Chomp! We rerouted ourselves and were quickly back on track. The trip so far has been a very beautiful one. There are tons of rivers and trees everywhere, a big difference from driving through the Texas desert. We've been on the lookout for roadside shows and attractions but unfortunately have yet to come across one. We have discovered America's coolest gas station though, El Cheapo!!! They beat high gas prices with a donkey!! In Florida I was craving oranges and in Georgia I wanted peaches, what's South Carolina known for? I'm assuming home cooked pies from the billboards. That's where we are at the moment. We still have four hours before we reach Alex's friends house in Chapel Hill, NC. We are still going strong with good music and stories.

I mentioned that there would be a few awesome things along the way and one is coming up very soon. It just so happens that Alex is going to school just a couple hours away from my sister who lives in upstate NY. I just called her and Friday looks like it's the day I'm finally going to see her. This is a moment I have been anticipating for 10 years. Words can't really describe how I feel, I'm excited, nervous, and happy that I'm getting this opportunity. I can't wait to give her a hug!



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

South of the BorderSouth of the Border
South of the Border

this was south of the North Carolina border. We had been seeing signs for up to 150 miles away telling about this place. First neat attraction on the road


18th August 2011

so much fun
carolyn I'm glad your seeing so much and living your dream. I love you and can't wait to read more. :)

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 29; dbt: 0.031s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb