Gypsy Journeys


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » El Paso
August 14th 2011
Published: August 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Gypsy Route


Here I go again! Today marks the first day of my new adventure. Exciting and unknown experiences lie ahead. This is a whole different kind of experience from my seven months of study abroad in Southeast Asia. There are many stops along the way and I don’t exactly have an end date to mark my return to the states. This is what makes this experience so different. I have set plans till about March at the moment but things still are murky as to exactly where I will be and how long I will be there for. So here’s a bit of an outline so far:

Today, August 14th: Fly to Ft. Myers, Fl to meet Alex (my best friend) to then turn around and help her move to Buffalo, NY. We will be doing an east coast road trip. Along the way, we will stop at our heart’s content to see any interesting sites, such as the largest fork or “The Thing”. Please pray for us! Who knows what kind of mischief Alex and I can get into! I do feel that this road trip has the potential of “epic” status.

August 21st: Fly to Europe!

October 1st: Fly to Thailand!

There are a few awesome things to come but why spoil the surprise?

I managed to fit my life into a traveler’s backpack and a side bag for this trip. That was a feat on its own!! If you know me you’d understand. My 65 L backpack is bulging at every seam but I did it! Packing was also left very last minute and I found myself waking up at 6 am this morning just to pack.
It’s a strange feeling being done with the undergrad chapter of my life. Austin has a place in my heart that no other city can take. The culture is amazing and I am glad to have been able to experience it. The friendships I made while living in Austin have had a huge impact on my life. The experiences that I gained through these friendships have developed me to who I am today and I will carry them for the rest of my life. I’m sad to leave all these important people in my life, wherever they may be, to go on to Thailand to teach English but I know that time will again fly and I’ll be back soon enough.
So I hope that you will enjoy reading my experiences as much as I love telling you about them. Let’s see what kind of mishap I can get myself into this time!

-Carolyn


Advertisement



Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 16; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0939s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb