Yes there is more in Florida than fishing


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Cape Canaveral
October 20th 2008
Published: October 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello! Sorry I've been a bit slow with updating the blog.

I did actually do more in Florida than go fishing but not much! I was haivng too much fun just kicking back by the pool and spa.

Then the weather went a little bad but there were some spectacular thunderstorms. So pretty much I lived in the unit and and the pool for a week. When I did eventually get up and about I only had one day left! But at least it only cost me one day to hire a car, because nothing is close.

Within the first hour of being in Florida I saw my first Gator! Apparently they are extremely common. But I went on an airboat tour specifically to see them and all I saw was a baby and another in the distance that wasn't too big either. A couple of hours later I was driving up to the Kennedy Space Centre and saw two big ones in pools of water by the side of the road! I don't think they are usually that close, there is just a lot of water at the moment because of a few tropical storms they had
Coming back into portComing back into portComing back into port

This is coming back into port from the fishing trip as a cruise liner was coming out
over the summer. Because I was driving though and water everywhere, I couldn't stop and get photos, bummer!

The Kennedy Space Centre was good. Sadly there were no shuttle launches while I was there and I didn't have a lot of time to look around the space centre because I got there late in the afternoon but with access to good accommodation there it's definitely somewhere I will go back to!

And I am so brave, I drove on the wrong side of the road! And I drove on the interstate to the airport. I was paranoid the whole time but hey, I did it!


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Can you see the tug boat?Can you see the tug boat?
Can you see the tug boat?

Just to the right of the cruise liner is a tug boat if you look closely


Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 16; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0483s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb