Someone has to show this to Dad!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Cape Canaveral
October 10th 2008
Published: October 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I have just caught the biggest fish of my life!

Today I went out fishing from Cape Canaveral in Florida and boy did I have a grin on my face as we were coming back into port. All up we only fished for about 3 hours and I only caught 4-5 fish and only kept evidence of one (well technically 2).

All my other fish were little black tip sharks (and what most of the others on the boat caught as you can see by the photos). Finally I broke the mould and caught an undersize black Sea Bass. Ryan the deckie got all excited and asked me if I wanted to catch the barracuda which was hanging around the boat and kept pinching our fish as we were reeling them in and everyone was cursing it.

He grabbed me a rod with a wire rig (end piece of the line with the sinker and bait for the non fishing people out there) and put my sea bass on as bait. As Ryan described it, Barracudas go for anything big that wiggles so my poor dying sea bass was perfect. We were about to give up on the sea bass (which was almost dead) and almost had it back in the boat. Then the poor little sea bass shit itself and took off because the big arse barracuda had finally taken the bait and swallowed the sea bass whole right in front of us. It was incredible!! Apparently, according to Ryan who was laughing his arse off at me, I said "holy shit" quietly loudly and enthusiastically. The barracuda took off! and the rod almost went flying out of my hands from shock.

About 15 minutes later of me wearing out the barracuda (or maybe vice versa) I finally got the friggin thing up to the surface for Ryan to gaff the bloody thing. I didn't realise it but the whole boat (a dozen other people doesn't sound quite as dramatic) had stopped fishing, brought in their lines and was watching me curse and swear at a fish as I was bringing it in.

I almost fell over from exhaustion when I finally landed the fish.

Apparently barracuda are not the best eating (and what am I going to do with that much fish since I fly out in 2 days) so I donated it back to the boat for the night shark fishing trip that was going out tonight.

By the way, the 'technical' photographic evidence of the second fish is the poor little sea bass. If you look closely at the photos (especially the photos back at the dock) they show a little swelling just under the dorsal fin, towards the tail. Poor sea bass.

So now I'm back at my uncle's unit, exhausted after my big day of successful fishing and walking home in the rain, with a lovely cocktail in hand watching the electrical storm pass over . . . aahh such is life!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

It's huge!It's huge!
It's huge!

127cm and 20kg worth of blood, sweat and tears
Biggest fish of the dayBiggest fish of the day
Biggest fish of the day

And the biggest fish I have ever caught. Did I mention 127cm and 20kg!!!! I rock!!
Eric's jealous!Eric's jealous!
Eric's jealous!

Pity the real Eric's not here to see this moment. Have you ever caught a barracuda Dad?


Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0861s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb