I wish I had more time in Canada


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta
October 6th 2008
Published: October 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So what have I been up to? I had a few days in Canada where I met up with my good friend Lish. Lish was doing a course in Vancouver so while she worked during the day - I was a tourist. But we had a few days together and Lish's girlfriend, Jen, is from Canada so we had our own personal tour guide. We hired bikes (yes bike riding again) and rode around Stanley Park which is this massive park in the middle of the city. Then we walked all around downtown Vancouver, about 8 hours all up. Exhausting! And then we did it all again the next day, over to Stanley Island where there is a lot of markets and had lunch on the pier and a little boat ride down the river.

Bought my second and third souveniers while I was in Vancouver (the first was a steel cup from Alcatraz). I have this cute little card tin with wonder woman on the top. I love Wonder Woman! The second was a watch - nothing too exciting.

We also went up to the top pf Grouse Mountain. Lish and I caught the gondola up, while Jen and a friend did what's called the Grouse Grind basically hiking up the mountain. I was going to do it . . . and then I saw how big the mountain is, although the Canadians do not consider it a mountain only a foothill. Up the top of the mountain I saw my first Grizzly bears. While we were watching them all the tourists were oohing and ahhing. Then one of the bears lifted a stick out of the water and you good see the size of their claws, nobody ooed or ahhed then. And they were only cubs too. We also watched a lumberjack show, very interesting but amazing. It is all in jest for the kids but take away the laughs and you can see how dangerously they lived and what a hard livestyle it would have been.

We also went over the Capilano Suspension bridge which was just a little high! Thankfully they have an attendant constantly on the bridge so that no one can rock it! There is a treetops walk here as well which was about half the height of the one Lauren I and did in WA but the forrest was beautiful to look at. And thankfully no bears.

I had a fews days in Calgary (actually Okotoks) where Jen and Lish live. We managed to sleep most of the first day (yay!) until Lish got me up for (yet another) bike ride to the Saskatoon Berry Farm. We basically bipassed the farm and went straight down to the river. The scenery was absolutely gorgeous because it is the middle of fall in Canada but we were lucky enough to have warm weather (about 27C which is unheard of, it is usually a lot colder).

My last day, the girls took me for a drive up to the foothills of the rocky mountains. We were no where near the bottom of the mountain ranges and they still looked huge.

I would love to go back and see everything covered in snow.

But before the unusually warm weather changed I left for Florida - bring on the heat and humidity!!

Hope everyone is well, let me know what's happening at home.

xoxox




Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Jen, me and Lish Jen, me and Lish
Jen, me and Lish

Somewhere in the forrest in the foothills at the bottom of the Rocky Mountains


Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 15; qc: 30; dbt: 0.035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb