I love San Francisco!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Francisco » Alcatraz
September 30th 2008
Published: October 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Nob HillNob HillNob Hill

hehe - purely for my own simple minds amusement!
Hi there again!

Spent a few wonderful days in San Francisco which I am grateful for because it confirmed what I was hoping - that not all of America is like LA and Vegas.

San Francisco is very cute - just as I remember it from the opening credits on Full House. All the little apartments on top of each other and the well known cable cars.

I walked all over the CBD and harbour area on the first day which was painful because San Franciso is a myriad of hills, very steep hills. The next day I spent with a girl from Germany riding a bike around town, the waterfront and over the Golden Gate Bridge to a little community call Sausilto. Once again, hills. I was completely exhausted but well worth it. While I was crossing the Golden Gate bridge I had images from all the dooms day movies where the big earthquake hits and the GG bridge becomes a big wobbling mess but we survivied!

Beck - I watched The Sweetest Thing just after leaving San Francisco, I didn't realise that it was based there so it was quiet funny watching the movie and seeing all the places I'd been walking in the day before.

Of course I did the trip over to Alcatraz while I was there, typical tourist. It was an eye opener, I didn't realise how small the cells were and how torturing the hole really would have been. There is a lot of history in one little place but it is most know for the jail even though it was only one for a small period of time.

Anyway - I hope everyone is keeping well.

xox


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0799s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb