Nevada and Arizona


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Nevada » Las Vegas
September 23rd 2008
Published: September 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Landing in the Grand Canyon 82 secs
My hotelMy hotelMy hotel

Monte Carlo from the Strip
Stop number two.

Well I'm in Las Vegas. I feel really guilty just being here. Everything is over the top and gluttonous. There are hundreds of power lines coming into the town to feed all the lights for really no reason at all. It is like 'keeping up with the Jones' taken to the extreme. At least at lot of the electricity comes from hydropower from the Hoover Dam. And there are cars everywhere, but even the small cars are twice the size of ours (maybe be exaggerating a little). So far the places I've been to revolve around cars and public transport is almost none existent.

I had a rebellious moment yesterday so I booked a helicopter flight to the Grand Canyon. It was fantastic, my first helicopter flight. We landed in the Grand Canyon to have a glass of sparkling then flew over the Hoover Dam. The dam itself is huge but the dam wall comparatively is tiny. I was supposed to do the Stratosphere tonight but I ran out of money (not literally I just didn't realise it takes a while for money to transfer to my travel card). I even had to get room service
My hotel at nightMy hotel at nightMy hotel at night

Monte Carlo all lit up
for dinner to charge it to the room (oh darn!).

There are 4 Cirque du Soleil shows in Vegas as well. I went to see Zumanity at New York New York because it was the closest and it turned out to be a burlesque/caberet show. It was pretty good but not what I was expecting from Cirque du Soleil!!

Off to San Francisco tomorrow . . .


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Golden ArchesGolden Arches
Golden Arches

The flashest Golden Arches I've ever seen!
HD CafeHD Cafe
HD Cafe

Just for you Mike!
Harley Davidson CafeHarley Davidson Cafe
Harley Davidson Cafe

Also for Mike!
ProofProof
Proof

Proof that I went in the helicopter
The Valley of FireThe Valley of Fire
The Valley of Fire

You can get married here?!
MeMe
Me

Inside the helicopter, inside the Grand Canyon
An unlikely service station . . .An unlikely service station . . .
An unlikely service station . . .

. . . in the middle of nowhere
Hoover DamHoover Dam
Hoover Dam

Well, the dam wall anyway


Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 18; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0458s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb