Sensory overload in NYC!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
October 20th 2008
Published: October 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

NYC was a huge change from the quiet beach location in Cape Canaveral, Florida. I book accommodation at the Tudor Hotel (at the United Nations) and had a free upgrade to business class on the flight so I thought I was in for a great time. Boy . . .

I caught the subway into NYC from the airport, what a nightmare. There are no maps in the carriages to show you what stations are where so if you don't remember what station you need (which I didn't) then you have no idea! Then when I went to change trains, the other line was down and people were not very happy. Meanwhile, I'm still lugging around my backpack! And there were no information signs at the train station or maps so I thought I'd risk it with a cab which I survived and dropped me to the door!

There is so much food in NYC, apparently if you eat at a different place for breakfast, lunch and dinner you won't double up for years!

The first day I just walked as far as I could, for about 5 hours I think. Just up and down streets that looked interested and I went up to the observation deck at the Empire State Building. I didn't have a clear day but it is still impressive! I was so exhausted that all I could do that night was eat and go straight to sleep!

The next day I hopped on one of the double decker buses and drove around most of the day but this was only mid town and downtown. I managed to get back to the hotel in time to clean up and head out to one of the best experiences. I saw Phantom of the Opera on Broadway! Never in my life did I imagine that I would get to see a show on broadway, let alone the longest running broadway show. It was fantastic. I wish I had more time (and money) in New York so I could see all of the shows! It also gave me the opportunity to see Times Square at night, there are just people and lights everywhere.

My last day in New York I had to try to fit in as much as I could. I finished off the bus tour of downtown and jumped on a boat tour to
From the Empire State BuildingFrom the Empire State BuildingFrom the Empire State Building

This is where the twin towers used to dominate the skyline
see the Statue of Liberty, then the Uptown and Harlem bus tour. In the middle of this I survived a NY hotdog from the dodgy street vendors. They costs a few dollars but they are small!

I got back to Times Square just on dusk and hopped on a night tour. It takes you around downtown again but then over to Brooklyn to look back at the City lights. Very impressive! By this time, it's about 10pm and I had to collect my bags and head out to the airport. I was buggered at the end of this.

You could spend weeks in NY and still not see everything . . . I definitely like to go back and spend a day just lazying in Central Park.



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Eric with the Chrysler BuildingEric with the Chrysler Building
Eric with the Chrysler Building

I have heaps of cityscape photos but they just don't capture it
Everything weird and wonderful in NYCEverything weird and wonderful in NYC
Everything weird and wonderful in NYC

This is fromt he Jurassic Park movies
New Years Building - Times SquareNew Years Building - Times Square
New Years Building - Times Square

This is where they drop the ball on new years. The building is empty (even though it could be offices) becuase they make enough money from all the advertising
Statue of LibertyStatue of Liberty
Statue of Liberty

Now I've seen both Statue's of Liberty!


Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0542s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb