What I Want to be When I Grow Up!


Advertisement
Published: May 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I just spent the last two days with some amazing women in their eighties. My grandmother had a reunion this weekend of the year abroad she spent in Geneva her Junior year of college. Seven women cam, and I tell you, if I can be like they are when I am 82, I will be a happy person! Can you imagine going to spend a year in Europe, just after World War II? They traveled over on a converted troop ship, stacked three bunks high, and landed in England, went to the Follies Bergere with a bunch of young men recruited by the US Embassy! Their teachers set that up! How cool! And then they continued on to Geneva, where they spent the rest of the year. How brave to head off with reliable way to talk with your family except be letters that took weeks to get back and forth! Oh man, my Oma is soooo cool, lol. And the rest of them were awesome too. One of them worked in the CIA, receiving info from spies during the Vietnam war, and even went over there! She tried to get on a plane with Kennedy to convince him not to
Geneva Class of '47Geneva Class of '47Geneva Class of '47

These women are my new heroes!
go to war there! And another went to South America and worked on Archeology sites in the Jungles in Guatamala. Yep, they're the kind of woman I want to be.
And for more fun, I have tamed a squirrel here. Well, not really. More like she's trained me, lol. She comes up and sits on the rocking chair by the sliding door until you come out with nuts, and then she'll take nuts from your hand. She's really quite adorable.
My cousin Zef got back from school today 😊 They are coming over later tonight, and bringing a kayak! Yay. So now I can head out and explore the marshes during the days. I can't wait. The marsh has all these channels through it, around the osprey nest platforms, and there are tons of herons. I think I'll go out and play Robinson Crusoe in one of the tree islands 😊.
Oh, and I wish I could get a picture of all the apple blossom petals falling, but I can't seem to, so I'll just have to tell you that all of the petals are raining from the apple trees that surround the house. It is so beautiful... The marsh is gloriously foggy right now, we're supposed to get a thunderstorm tonight, which will send the dog into a fit!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

P1030254P1030254
P1030254

I must have fed her at least three handfuls of nuts. She buries them in Oma's gardens and comes back for more!


Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0588s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb