Salmon River/Hot Springs


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado
June 27th 2005
Published: July 25th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I have never been so cold in my life as I was today. We did a white water rafting trip down the Salmon River in Colorado. The water in the river is run off from the snow from all the ice caps on the top of the mountain. On top of the freezing water the weather was cold and raining.

Most of the boys went in one raft and the girls and Ian went in another. Apparently, the last time the Green Tortoise trip came they were very rowdy. So, our boat guide only brought oars for one of the rafts because he was afraid we'd cause trouble. The boys got all the oars at first, but we convinced them halfway through to give a few to us. Of course, that's when the water fights started.

I was at the front and once we hit the rapids the water was so high it went straight over my head and down my life vest. My chest and hands were so cold. At the end I could barely straighten my fingers.

Thank goodness our bus drivers had a hot water sping planned for us afterwards. We drove about an hour and then hiked 2 miles up a mountain to a natural hot springs. It was amazing! There was one stream that was so hot it was hotter than a hot tub. Then there was another spring that was cold. When the two came together it made for a very nice pool of warm water. I really thought I was in heaven when I was sitting down in the pool with my feet up overlooking a beautiful mountain. It was so nice!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.185s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0923s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb