In the last 24 hours the total views of my blogs have hit 25,000


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Woodland Park
August 31st 2014
Published: August 31st 2014
Edit Blog Post

Kari12 with Home and AwayKari12 with Home and AwayKari12 with Home and Away

We met in Fort Collins, CO
and that's after 5 years of blogging. My most popular blog for some unknown reason is Alaska Inside Passage Cruise May 2008, a rather mundane account of a not too exotic cruise with 783 hits. That's not saying much when the most visited blogs are Tibetan sky burial in China with 157,192 hits and Sign up for Skype!!! with 154,874...obviously from those who Google'd Skype. My friend The Travel Camel found the word that attracts many Google searches with his most popular blog Sex in the Gulf with 98,299 hits. Anyway, I thought this unimpressive milestone deserved a mention. Wouldn't it be ironic if this blog eventually got the most hits as the only ones who will initially see this blog are my subscribers and Followers...thanks everyone!



I have included pictures of fellow TBers who I've met this fall.


Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement

Home and Away with Sojourner1208Home and Away with Sojourner1208
Home and Away with Sojourner1208

We met at the Garden of the Gods in Colorado Springs CO


31st August 2014

25,001
My pleasure to add "1" Bob. Your memories of travelling through a myriad of countries probably exceed your hits...but how can you count those? Priceless!
1st September 2014

Thanks, David...
I knew I could count on you!
1st September 2014

25,000+
Well done Bob. I think we need to eat some virtual cake to celebrate...but real cake would be much better!
1st September 2014

Some day we will meet...
and I'll make sure I treat you with a cake...after a great dinner of course!
1st September 2014

Congratulations!
I so admire the way you've documented your early childhood travels, scanning those photos so we could have a glimpse into the past. You also are such a great support for TB that I'm glad lots of people like following your exploits--well done!
1st September 2014

Travelblog started as a great platform for documenting my life for my family...
little did I know that my family would expand so much. It's been a pleasure meeting you and so many other TBers.
1st September 2014

a challenge
Bob This sounds too much like the start of some challenge... are we all going to start thinking of ways to put things in our blog titles to attract the most hits.... could become a sport. Ha. My most popular blogs are the ones that have things to do with sexuality.... gay stuff like my account when working in India as a developent worker (volunteer) with HIV groups (which included working with a gay and hijra group). Oh well... back to thinking about titles for the next blogs ! :)
1st September 2014

Well, I did try an experiment with my blog about Cusco...
including Sexy Woman in the title. It didn't draw any hits out of the normal. I guess sexy isn't sexy! As for a challenge, I was surprised to find out recently that when I visit one of my blogs that increases the hits by one. Now I try not to visit my own blogs because I want the hits to reflect those by others.
1st September 2014

Proof again
Hey... so I just looked at my Travel Blog stats. It being the first of the month I note that I have ONE new hit thus far for September.... and guess what got the hit... predictably my blog # 833354 about Hijras in Delhi (hijras in India are transvestites.... blokes who dress in saris... and who live in communities with other hijras). And my all time highest hit blog is # 511777 about the gay pride rainbow march in Bhubaneswar where I was working (1,138) followed by a close second # 496776 about the Red Ribbon Express train in India to raise awareness about HIV and AIDS (1,040) well that one was not explicitly about the gay community but it did get a mention of course). ciao
1st September 2014

I guess you hit on some key words...
and thanks for the work you did in India with the gay community. I imagine they have it just as hard if not harder than women.
1st September 2014

Congrats Bob!
Number of hits doesn't necessarily equate to quality. My "Sex in the Gulf' blog for example is not as good as many of my other blogs with far less hits and it is inferior to your blogs as well! Just show that sex sells!
1st September 2014

25,000!
What an impressive milestone! I'm with Ren - cake is called for :)
1st September 2014

I must be the 25,006 then
Congratulations Bob! I agree with RenanDrew, some virtual cake is in order!
22nd September 2014

our Chat
I very much enjoyed our chat at the visitor center of the Garden of the Gods on Wednesday. It was so refreshing to talk with someone about traveling instead of the usual boring stuff people want to talk about.
23rd September 2014

Same here...
see you this coming Wednesday at 3 pm at the Dinosaur Resource Center here in Woodland Park.
4th December 2014

Congratulations!
Mr. Carlsen, Congratulations on 25,000 views! That is wonderful. I enjoyed your entry in May, "A Vacation to Recuperate from Vacation." I noticed that you are from Colorado. People from Colorado seem to me the adventurous type in general. I think that you probably have inspired some people who want to be more global and adventurous in their travels. Thank you very much for your readership and your nomination for Blogger of the Week. It is very appreciated.. Best, Monique
5th December 2014

Call me Bob...
Glad to hear you've enjoyed my blogs. Travel is my passion and I'm glad to have found Travelblog where I can write about my trips, both for my family and fellow Bloggers like you. Yes, we have retired in Colorado...Woodland Park at 8500 ft elevation. I'm pleased to nominate you...you are a great writer...was that your training? I hope you can blog about your past travels...I probably over did it by going back 65 years!

Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 19; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0222s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb