Top Ten Disasters: 10= 29th July 2008 Denver Airport


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Denver
January 10th 2012
Published: January 10th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Broken jalopyBroken jalopyBroken jalopy

In disgrace before being taken back.
The flight from the UK to Denver was delayed by a couple of hours, so rather than at 6 p.m., we landed at 8 (i.e. about 7 the next morning on my body clock).



After the usual delay for US border stuff, I was then the only person taken out of the queue to have my luggage searched. (Something similar had happened when I left the US in 2007 – if not my face, there’s something suspicious about random facial hair that's not in the passport photo).



When I finally took possession of my vehicle, I was in a hurry to get to bed, so I set off in one of those 1940s Chrysler retro-vans without trying to shut the window. The next morning I had to go the 30 miles back to the airport (still with the window jammed open) to swap the jalopy for proper Japanese technology.



When I finally returned the trusty Corolla at the end of 4000 miles, I got charged for the rental a second time. Happily the credit-card insurance worked and I was refunded (even though the company I’d booked with in January had ceased training).

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0467s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb