Top Ten Disasters: 10= 7th April 2007 Interstate 95 near Durham-Raleigh, North Carolina


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » North Carolina » Raleigh
January 9th 2012
Published: January 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

On arrival at Washington Airport, I took delivery of an impressively large and sharp-looking red Pontiac, definitely an upgrade from what I had booked. I drove this diagonally south-west across Virginia and (without adequate maps) down into Tennessee, at one past Dollywood.



On Easter Saturday, it seemed like a good idea to get back to Virginia, so I had a day of driving the longest distance I’ve ever done (beating Warwick to Arbroath the previous autumn by 6 miles).



At the north end of North Carolina, a pebble flicked up from a vehicle in front and I watched as it sped towards my windscreen. Had the glass given way, I wouldn’t be writing this! In the event a small crack appeared at one edge of the screen and I drove on. Overnight it snowed and by the time I scraped my screen the following day, the cracks were plural and significant. On Easter Monday I traded my Pontiac for a still large but sadly very unstylish Chevrolet.


Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0365s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb