Top Ten Disasters 9. 18th August 2000 Presov, Slovakia


Advertisement
Slovakia's flag
Europe » Slovakia » Presov Region » Presov
January 24th 2012
Published: January 24th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I should have guessed it wasn’t going to be my day when I balanced my sunglasses on my head in Levoca and then smashed them in half getting onto the bus.

The day was planned to be one of life’s rites of passage – going to see my first football match in Europe. I had identified Tatran Presov v Artmedia Petrzalka as the occasion for this event. In anticipation, on arrival in Presov, I checked into the most expensive hotel in town – nearly £20 for an unrivalled view of Tesco. I spotted posters on lamp-posts advertising the game and walked the route from hotel to ground. The only decision now was how to fill the 24 hours until the match. But first a late-afternoon snooze.

When I woke at about 6, I put on the tv before going out and found.... my match! For 15 minutes, I watched Tatran close out a comfortable 4 – 1 win and was then left to ponder how even the most flawed knowledge of Slovakian had caused me to miss the Friday kick-off. It was another 3 years before NK Maribor finally was the venue for my European debut.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0299s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb