Burnt in Tulum


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Tulum
July 16th 2008
Published: July 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Day 16: Tuesday 15th July - Tulum Beach and Ruins

When I got to Tulum around 6pm last night I decided to head for a hostel which I have a leaflet for - its a good 25 minute walk from the bus station. Unfortunately when I arrive I get a shock when they want 800 pesos a night not the 100 pesos I have come accustomed to paying. Decide to walk further on to the beach thinking its only another 10 minutes, except in ends up being an hours walk from the bus station by the time I get down there. Enquire about a few Cabanas down on the beach (think it'll be quite cool to spend a few nights in basic conditions)but put off by the 250 pesos a night. Flag down a taxi and end up at a hostel just next to the bus station!! Looking on the positive side its a good warm up to the days on treks in the future when I'll have to carry my pack! Hostel is quite full and lively so all is right in the end.

The hostel runs a bus down to the beach which is a bonus, and after spending an hour or so at Tulum Ruins (My last Mayan ruins in Mexico) I'm very much looking forward to some chill out time on the beach. The Tulum ruins aren't as impressive as those i've visited so far but have the Carribean Sea in the background which is a pretty impressive setting. The beach is absolutely gorgeous, probably as nice a beach as I've been to (yes even better than Camel Beach - Dan !!). Spend the rest of the day on the beach, pretty much exclusively in the shade and with plenty of high factor suncream which leaves me a bit bemused when I get back to the hostel and I'm red raw on my front!

Day 17: Wednesday 16th July - Burnt on my Birthday

I've been looking forward to a few days on the beach for a week or so now and I knew it would coincide with my 31st Birthday, what a way to spend it on a beautiful beach. Unfortunately I awake in agony and am REALLY burnt, I'm moving around with all the grace of C3PO off Star Wars!! (he's a robot for the non fans out there). Every movement brings pain so unfortunately its a day in the shade for me and I'm going to have to give Tulum beach a miss which is a real shame. Chill out in the hammock in the hostel and chatting to whoever's around.

I've enjoyed Mexico and although I wouldn't mind staying in Tulum for a few more days my sunburn rules out the beach so I'm going to try to get to Guatemala tomorrow. Have a few beers in the evening and play some cards, a pretty chilled out day preparing for the journey ahead......










Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0809s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb