06 Far East Ride - Day 13 - NS, PEI, NB & QB


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Quebec
August 16th 2006
Published: December 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

New Brunswick #1New Brunswick #1New Brunswick #1

The following pictures are from the trip across NB and QB.
This is the 13th part of a series about my trip on my 2005 883 Low Harley Sportster ‘Effie’ from Kansas City to Novia Scotia and back. This was part of my vacation from 4 to 20 AUG 2006

WED 16AUG06

Up at 4AM, gone at 5AM. It’s a thick fog today, so thick it seems that I could cut it. With this being yet another day of rain and cold I am beginning to not expect any different. I need to get going as the PA Hog is coming up and I am many miles away. The next planned stop is Prince Edward Island. I am short of cash. My ATM card does not seem to be usable up here in their machines, so I am concerned about if I am going to have enough cash to pay the toll for the bridge that joins the island to the Canada mainland. There is a visitors center right before the bridge so I pull in to ask questions and use the facilities. The scoop on the bridge toll is its free to get onto the island, but it cost you $15-16 buck to get off the island. But they take CCs for that toll.

There was some gorgous views from the bridge, but nowhere to pull over and appreciate them. I get to Prince Edward Island before 9AM so only the gift shops at the visitors center is open. I buy some postcards and find a picnic table to relax and write some postcards home.

After PEI its off to Quebec. There was some really nice weather heading thru NB toward Quebec. Lots of really nice views and many Kodak moments were taken. Quebec has all of its signs in French. It was humorous to see the sign intended for visitors. Telling you what radio frequency to turn to get visitor information. But even this sign is in French. , English is not spelled any thing like ENGLISH when written in French, it even starts with an A. I followed the river down QB back toward NY. Stopping for the night at sundown, I stayed in QB for the night. The motel is Dan & Maries Motel $59 +taxes on 20 right before I turn south for the states. Dan is a wood carver and the key fobs are obviously some of his handy work, very cute and humorous. Dan has his dremel tool out working on some sort of wood carving project on the patio behind the lobby. I’m hungry, but I skipped supper as I am too tired to get out again to get some food.

The First Journal in this Series is: 06 Far East Ride - Day 1 - MO
The Route Map for the trip is located in the last Journal: 06 Far East Ride - Day 17 - HOME



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0242s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb