Back to Ontario


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Thunder Bay
July 27th 2021
Published: July 28th 2021
Edit Blog Post

Day 26. 6963Km.

This won’t be entertaining or informative. It was just 10 hours of driving 744Km. A few construction delays, a police lane closure after an accident I imagine and at least four stops for fuel, maybe five.

I woke up a bit before six but stayed in bed with my eyes closed in the hopes I’d catch another fifteen minutes of sleep. Of course that didn’t happen. I had my usual yogurt with raspberries and nuts then started the BBQ to toast a hotdog bun and warm some bacon I’d cooked a few days back to make a sandwich of sorts. I had so much fresh water in the holding tank from when I was resurrecting the water pump that I didn’t connect the water hose last night which meant I didn’t have to pack it up this morning. It’s a bit more complicated than just a hose because I also use an inline filter and a pressure regulator. I didn’t bother dumping the grey or black tank either so all I had to do this morning was disconnect the electricity and put away the cord and surge suppressor before I could go.

Winnipeg to Thunder Bay is about as exciting as driving across Saskatchewan except you have trees to look at instead of fields but for some reason my mind kept thinking I was going to Sault Ste. Marie. Maybe because it has been on my mind and I’ve cancelled my second night here in Thunder Bay and added a second night in the Soo. It looks like rain here tomorrow afternoon and the riding should be better there anyway if the weather holds up.

There is now a fire ban in Northern Ontario preventing me from having a campfire this evening but maybe that’s a good thing. I often stay up too late sitting by the fire the night before a long drive. Especially when I’m so close to a time zone change and it doesn’t get dark till ten p.m. it did seem a bit Smokey in the hills entering town. The picture doesn’t show it as bad as it is to my eye. Thankfully nothing like it was in BC though.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Thunder Bay KOAThunder Bay KOA
Thunder Bay KOA

Very close to the site I had on the way out


Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0526s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb