Curried Chicken


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Manitoba » Winnipeg
July 26th 2021
Published: July 27th 2021
Edit Blog Post

Day 25. 6219Km.

What a difference a province makes. While Saskatchewan seems to be wide open COVID wise, Manitoba still has warning signs on the highway stating you must quarantine for fourteen days for face a six hundred and something dollar fine. Either they are slow to remove the signs or it’s referring to those who aren’t fully vaccinated because the day I entered Manitoba headed West about three weeks ago the rules had changed that anyone fully vaccinated no longer had restrictions. It appears masts are still mandatory though.

I got up at six with the intension of getting on the road early. It’s a bit of a hike as the saying goes from Moose Jaw to Winnipeg. Speaking of which, I’m a little surprised at how many people I see on bicycles on the Trans Canada Highway peddling across the prairies. Good for them but wow. After breakfast and packing up I was on the road by 7:15. I’m pretty happy with that early a start since I’d been staying in bed till eight for the previous two weeks. A couple stops for fuel and to refill my drink container and the next thing I knew I was back in Winnipeg. The KOA campground here isn’t top notch and I may have tried something different but I remembered they had home made Indian food so that brought me back. The curried chicken is delicious along with rice, some nan and a samosa.

I arrived about a quarter to four and immediately gathered some laundry. There was a lady who’s cloths were in the dryers when I went in but the washers were empty. She offered me laundry soap but I said I had some. When I returned a half hour later my wash was done but she still had the dryers occupied so we started chatting a bit and then she offered me dryer sheets. Those I didn’t have so a graciously accepted a couple. She said she was done with them anyway because they would be home in another couple of days. She told me the name of the town in Northern Ontario but I didn’t recognize it. Once my stuff was all dry I wrestled the sheets back onto the bed and then split some wood for a fire. They have some nice hardwood here at the camp. Some of it looks like oak.

For some reason my stereo in the trailer lost the Bluetooth connection to my Sirius satellite radio but I don’t have the desire to deal with that tonight. Perhaps tomorrow.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0752s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb