June 12, 09


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Nova Scotia » Peggy's Cove
June 12th 2009
Published: June 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Day 12. 4674Km
The forecast of better weather for Saturday went poof like a weak balloon when I checked The Weather Network. I wanted to ride the Cabot Trail but already waisted a day in Sydney waiting on mother nature. I doubt it's any more picturesque than my drive down the coast to Louisbourg anyway. I may never know now. I'm getting down with all this crappy weather so I greased my balls and pulled out.
The fog is hanging low. There are no top to the hills. The gravel pile beside the Causeway is barely visible. I stop in Truro for Fuel and grab a few snacks at the GT Boutique. As the skies open up I consider heading back to New Brunswick and out of this gloomy hell of mine. Truro is the point of no return. I check the weather for Halifax and it's supposed to clear for Saturday. I carry on, if for no other reason than the Navy had my Uncle stationed there when I was a child. Apparently I've been here before. Legend has it I ate more clams or oysters than anyone else in the family when we visited his family. I can neither confirm or deny. I have no recollection of those events at this time.
Once I reach Halifax I pull out the camping guide I picked up in Cape Breton and find a place on St. Margaret's Bay. I unhooked the trailer and connected the water and electricity but it was still raining so hard I left the bike inside. A Google search found me Bearly's House of Blues where I enjoyed a Chicken Souvloki dinner and a live band. The hockey game was on for those who cared. On the way into Halifax it rains so hard there is standing water on the highway. In the city there is water curb deep in some places. Is this a normal afternoon shower in Halifax?
Once back at camp the rain has stopped so I can unload the bike, roll it under the awning and drop the bed. Nighty night.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Canso CausewayCanso Causeway
Canso Causeway

leaving Cape Breton
St. Margarets Bay campsiteSt. Margarets Bay campsite
St. Margarets Bay campsite

taken the next morning after the rain stopped


Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0572s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb