June 11, 09


Advertisement
Published: June 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Day 11. Thursday
Another cool cloudy day in Cape Breton. No surprise right?
I thought I'd take a drive to Sydney to have a look around. In seven kilometers you climb to around 750 feet and back to sea level. On the way down you spot a large green bridge that crosses at New Harris Settlement onto Boularderie Island. A little further along I spot the ferries that go to Newfoundland docked in North Sydney. Unfortunately I'm caught at a light when I notice one pulling away with the nose open. By the time I get somewhere I can take a picture from it's too late. A quick look around by the docks and I head off to Sydney.
Other than a giant violin outside a music hall I don't see anything interesting. Glace Bay is next so I stick to the coast passing through New Victoria, Scotchtown and Dominion. Approaching Glace Bay I see a few wind turbines. Along with them is a coal fired power plant. Some people think turbines are ugly!
Continuing along I pass through Port Morien and on to Mira Gut. A few french names come up as I continue South into Louisbourg. These are unadulterated fishing towns. I cut back across to Sydney on HWY 22.
I'm thinking about that small ferry in Englishtown so I get on the Cabot Trail so I can cross on the return trip to the campground. It's five dollars which is about a dollar a minute. The ferry actually pulls itself across on a cable.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

North Sydney docksNorth Sydney docks
North Sydney docks

where the ferries to Newfoundland dock
Newfoundland ferryNewfoundland ferry
Newfoundland ferry

docked in North Sydney
Newfoundland ferryNewfoundland ferry
Newfoundland ferry

leaving North Sydney
one big violinone big violin
one big violin

Sydney, NS
wind turbineswind turbines
wind turbines

Glace Bay, NS
small harboursmall harbour
small harbour

Port Morien, NS
one lane bridgeone lane bridge
one lane bridge

Mira Gut, NS


Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0703s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb