June 13, 09


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Nova Scotia » Peggy's Cove
June 13th 2009
Published: June 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Day 13, Saturday.
I roll out of bed about 11. The sky is still covered in clouds so I'm in no rush to get going. Once fully mobile I jump on the bike and head up route 333 along side St. Margarets Bay to HWY 3 and fill up. I head West through Hubbards and into Chester. I make a pass through the old town area where the shops are and head back to Timmy's on the main road for a muffin and some warmth where I meet a man on a Road Star that he dislikes. I ask about the rear that's been bobbed. "ya, it's going in for paint". He continues on with the list of dislikes; the headlight is too big, hates the floorboards, does'nt like the front end... "Hey" he says. "You've got one of those fat front tires too. Does it follow the black lines in the road?" I confirm it does and he says his Sportster never did. "You have to push this thing in the corners too. The Sportster would follow the road." In my head I'm asking the obvious question but why waist my breath. Besides, he might answer.
I start back discouraged it's three o'clock and there is still no clear sunshine. I know that Peggy's Cove is less than 10Km South of where I am camped so I decide to check it out. Along the way I am startled to see the Memorial for Swissair flight 111. I never thought I'd stumble upon something like this. It's subtle. Simple.
Onward to Peggy's Cove. I'm picturing a town crammed full of tourist shops. Boy was I surprised! There is a restaurant and a couple scattered shops but nothing like I had imagined. Instead, rock. Lots and lots of rock. People climbing all over the place like ants in a gravel pit. When in Rome...
According to Google there are plenty of Pubs in Halifax. Tonight's choice is Durty Nelly's Authentic Irish Pub. The story claims it was disassembled in Ireland and brought over. Should be interesting.
I never did find Durty Nelly's but the Irish Pub I did find turned out to be THE place to be on this Saturday night. I ordered Irish curry and chips. Interesting combo of chicken, apple and raisins in a curry. Sweeter than I'm used to but not bad. About 11 the band comes on and the place explodes with people. The guy from Edmonton and I can no longer hear each other. By the time I leave there is a good size lineup outside. The streets are alive with stumbling youth. Ah, to be 20 years younger.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Peggy's CovePeggy's Cove
Peggy's Cove

I tried to catch the splash but the cell phone camera is too slow


15th June 2009

Cove
Nice shots of the cove Cam. Its such a unique place. We also stayed on St. Margaret's Bay. Here's hoping for some sunshine!!

Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0955s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb