Memoir... circa '67


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver
October 17th 2006
Published: October 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Circa 1967. I turned 17 in Vancouver. Melting pot of travelers from all over the world. I had hitchhiked up there from California... via Seattle. Everyone was known by the name of the state or area they came from. Hence, I was known as California. One guy totally reeked of suspicion as a nark, so we just called him Nark. He wore a lettermen's jacket!

Stayed at Crowbait's place on English Bay. Sometimes we just slept on the beach during the day, and sat in a cafe all night. There was one on Granville St that I remember really well. Bonnie's Cafe. We spent so much time there. I remember someone telling me that the waitress was a transvestite. Sure enough, the next day, Poopsie (that was what we called him/her) came cross dressed.

I recall going through Stanley Park one night with a friend of mine (called him New York... he was a bona fide draft dodger) We took turns scooping the coins off of the bottom of a wishing well. Total take, about $40.00, mostly pennies. Next day we walked past the scene of the crime, and found it had screen over it!

There was Laser... who wore a headband with a medallion between his eyes. His head was indented, because of the headband (or so it seemed!)


Press here to credit the account that will send a smile around the world!!!
Help My Wings GROW!. I accept Paypal, Visa or Mastercharge, and of course, American Express. I'll even accept foreign currency. So don't be bashful, a few bucks won't break the bank!


Back to Square 1


Advertisement



Tot: 0.325s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 14; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0426s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb