Vancouver day 5


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver
November 9th 2013
Published: November 11th 2013
Edit Blog Post

It’s Saturday, I had bought myself a day pass for transports so I decide to go to the south part of Vancouver. That’s Granville Island, South Granville, University of British Columbia and Kitsilano.

To get to Granville Island, I take the Sea Bus (see picture). Granville Island is very nice, beautiful market, little shops (especially one with instruments from all around the world, made for music lovers) and art galleries.

Then head to South Granville, where you mainly have shops and galleries. Walk to Kitsilano, get to go pass a chocolate shop, can’t resist, have to buy some. Women says “for yourself or to offer ?” pffff what a question, sure for myself, even if I wanted to offer them, I would eat them before I got back to France. Sorry guys, but you all know my devotion to chocolate !!!

Also get to see an interesting shop where you can buy books, cook and eat.

Then direction University of British Columbia, get on the bus for that as it’s quite a distance. Who would’nt want to study over there. Great place even under rain, just next to beach, beautiful view on mountains, gardens…

Visit a very interesting gallery on how Indians were killed or their children sent to school where they were beaten, abused and told their community was evil. Wasn’t allowed to take pictures but maybe you can find information on the internet site “Morris and Helen Belkin Gallery”.

Finish my tour by the Wreck Beach, that is a naturist beach, funny I didn’t see any nude people at this time of year !! And don’t get to understand why there is a naturist beach just next to a University.

Wanted to go along the beach on the trail but had 3 good reasons not too :

- First I didn’t have to right shoes

- Second it was 4pm so soon dark

- Third and main reason, saw that there was a man that had raped girls and that they hadn’t found him yet, so wasn’t going to take any risks ! I’m not stupid

Get back on the bus, return to the hotel and go out to have one of the best meals since I arrived. A delicious Italian dish.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0285s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb