road side attractions


Advertisement
Published: July 25th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hockey AnyoneHockey AnyoneHockey Anyone

Eric has found a big stick to use in Duncan, BC
Since this was Eric's first trip to Vancouver Island, Nichole played tour guide and took us up island to Duncan and Chemainus. The murals in Chemainus are amazing and tell the story of the town's evolution. They have added life like sculptures now too. We had one thing to see in Duncan. The world's largest hockey stick. Given the state of the NHL and that they finally have come to terms on an agreement, it was even more fun to see the stick this year! To get a good picture we had to walk around the arena, through a ball field and a truck show that was set up in an adjoining parking lot. We decided that if anyone asked us what we were doing, we would tell them we were in the next edition of The Amazing Race and this was one of the pit stops!

We met up with Wayne for dinner at the Tapas Bar down town after drinks at Milestones, my favorite bar in Victoria.

On Friday, the Girls went to lunch with Nic's Mom and Grandmother while the boys did household chores! The Boys took some time out of their busy schedule to play
Boys and their Toys!Boys and their Toys!Boys and their Toys!

Wayne and Eric horsing around in the back yard.
with Wayne's new remote control plane. Eric was given short, brief instructions on how to launch and how to fly. Wayne has decided not to sponsor Eric's application to pilot school in the interest of public safety! Lots of laughing and giggling ensued. They finished their afternoon playing duelling lawn mowers in the back yard!

On Friday night, the group got larger and we celebrated Nic's birthday. We were treated to a feast of home made pizza on the BBQ and fresh spring salmon caught the week before by Cousin Carmine. Good Food, Good drink, how could it get any better than that.... stay tuned!

Advertisement



25th July 2005

It was a nice weekend here in Ottawa; boy, I'll bet you guys are jealous. Your big surprise sounds like it was fun! You'll enjoy that tape. I'm glad you were wise enough to choose the non-crashing BC ferry to the Island. I've heard it's beautiful there. I look forward to updates from Washington State, say hi to Laura Palmer for me!
25th July 2005

I think those Hind boys pulled a fast one on you, I remember going to Capilano and being able to walk around the bridge! Wish I had known you were in Duncan, you could have picked up some salmon from Jim. Drive safe.
25th July 2005

saying goodbye...
This is such a cool site... and now that I am all caught up (read: "in on the secret") I will be following you home! I was pretty blue on Sunday when you left and several times had the feeling that there were strangers in our yard - I a may have a complex!! I had a fabulous time - thanks for sharing my birthday! N.

Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.047s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0466s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb