Kill the Canadian Shower


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Banff
September 11th 2010
Published: September 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Well I am finally well and truly somewhat kind-of settled into my new home in Banff.

I've discovered that even though summer has technically only just finished the temperature will still get below 10 degrees, that yes there is expected snow within the next few days and that the typical Canadia shower should be destroyed.

My first encounter with said unseemly beast was in my hostel bathroom, of course I really shouldn't expect much for $34 a night but regardless. Well i tried to turn it on, freezing water trickles out of the bath nozzel not the shower head. After a few minutes I discovered that the hot side is cold and the cold side is hot...turned the handle (silly backwards canadian showers). Still only trickling out of bath nozzel...more fiddling....give up..let it run for an hour and come back to a half-full bath only to figure out that the handle needs to be pulled out for the water to run full, and the sliver thingo needs to be pushed in for the water to come out the shower head.

As traumatic as this ordeal was it mustn't have made to great an impression on me because I went through the very same tribulations at my room in the Banff centre, with a few more slips.

Other than that not many complaints, Banff is so incredibly beautiful, going picture taking tomorrow so expect so (hopefully) nice photos within the next few days.

Missing everybody heaps,

Love Rachael

Advertisement



14th September 2010

killer showers!
hahaha get used to the shower beast... think its a north american thing not just Canada. I had to get used to the same funky contraptions in the USA :)

Tot: 0.163s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.1162s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb