Petra


Advertisement
Jordan's flag
Middle East » Jordan » South » Petra
July 1st 2006
Published: July 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

The Treasury and a CamelThe Treasury and a CamelThe Treasury and a Camel

I took this picture lying on the ground under the camel. I was worried the camel was either going to step on me or pee on me.
What can be said to describe Petra except maybe awesome. First off you enter Petra via a path called the Siq. The Siq is path formed in the rock by an earthquake and eroded to a large size by water. The wall are 150 meters high and in some places along the route it is only a few few meters wide and no sunlight reaches the bottom. Also along the Siq is the remains of an ancient Nabatean water channel that brought water into the city. Your first sight as you exit the Siq is what is known as the treasury. The Treasury is spectacular and is in wonderful condition because it is in a place that is protected from wind and water. After going pass the Treasury you enter the outer Siq which leads you to Nabatean homes and tombs. Also on the way is a Roman Amphitheatre which was completely carved out of the rock face. In fact all the buildings and tombs where carved out of the rock face by hand. You go further and you pass the higher up silk and Aaron's tomb. Then you make your way down the Roman Colonade and crusader fortress to you
Walking through the SiqWalking through the SiqWalking through the Siq

This is the path you take to get inside Petra. If you look at the side you can see the remains of a water channel system the Nabateans used.
start along the path to the monastery. The path to the Monastery consists of 850 stone steps cut into the mountain. It seems everywhere I go in the Middle East somebody cut lots of stone stairs into mountains. After a long climb to the top you are greeted by the massive Monastery. Also there is a nice cafe in cave opposite of the Monastery where you can cool off and look at the site. After the Monestary you can climb a little higher to a fantastic view of the mountain. Once you go up stairs you have to come down again. I made it down to the bottom again and meandered back to the Treasury all along the way there were bedouins asking if I wanted a donkey or camel ride. When I arrived back at the Treasury it was 2:30 pm and it was bathed in a rose red color. I walked back through the Siq after 6 hours of hiking around the sight. I was in amasement of what I had seen in Petra. I have to say it is one of the most spectacular sight in the Middle East I have seen and it actually rivals the Pyramids for me. Tomorrow I am going to spend one more day in Petra seeing the sights and taking a few more pictures. On July 3rd I head back to Israel and fly home on July 4th. I have enjoyed my trip to the Middle East and I hope more people come to these wonderful places. This is going to be my last journal of my trip and so I say Goodnight and Goodbye until my next travel adventure.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

The MonasteryThe Monastery
The Monastery

If you look at the door you can see people sitting there. This building was hugh.


2nd July 2006

Sounds great in Petra
Hotel sounds like just what you needed after your adventures and Petra itself sounds amazing, Love to see some pictures from Petra on your blog also Hotel pictures. I know all your fans would like that. Great way to end a great trip. Safe journey home, Take care as always , Mom

Tot: 0.245s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1279s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb