Long Nights Travel and Wadi Rum


Advertisement
Jordan's flag
Middle East » Jordan » South » Petra
June 30th 2006
Published: July 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

My travel plans from Cairo to Jordan on paper sounded good but in reality it was a long and sleepless night for me. My plane left late from Cairo because the airport tower would not give the plane clearance to leave. So we finally took off at about Midnight from Cairo to Tel Aviv. I made my way to passport control and found my self in a mostly empty airport at 1:30 am. I had to catch my next flight at a small airport and so I took a taxi ride there. I arrived about 2:30 am at Sde Dov airport to find that it did not open till 5:30 am so I have my taxi driver drop my off at a Hummous cafe close to the airport. I stayed there with all my bags trying to stay awake untill they closed down the cafe at 4:45 am. So I started to head back to the airport. The taxi drivers I flagged down wanted too much money to drive a 3/4 mile back to the airport so I took all my bags and walked there on foot. I arrived at the small airport and took a quick nap till my flight left at 7:30 am. I arrived in Eilat, Israel at 8:30 am and took a quick taxi ride to the border with Jordan. It took only 20 minutes to get a visa, change money to dinars, and make it across the border to the city of Aqaba, Jordan. I hired a taxi driver to take me to Wadi Musa the town outside of Petra. On the way there I decided to stop at the magical desert area called Wadi Rum which you might remember from the movie Lawrence of Arabia. I took an hour long 4x4 truck drive through Wadi Rum. It was hot and windy but it was a fantastic place to visit. The scenery is so beautiful with the sand dunes and the rock formations sticking out of the desert. After Wadi Rum it was one hour drive more to Wadi Musa and my hotel. I arrived at my hotel about 2:45 pm and was tired beyond belief. I took a dip in the pool before crashing in my bed for the night and sleeping for 11 hours straight. Tomorrow I will head into ancient city of Petra. So Goonight and Goodbye from Wadi Musa, Jordan.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.219s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1361s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb