Aqaba


Advertisement
Jordan's flag
Middle East » Jordan » South » Aqaba
August 4th 2009
Published: August 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Aqaba was the final major location along the trip. It is a resort town that is also a tax free area! This is supposed to mean that things are super super cheap here. However, all the meals and such still cost more than they would in Irbid. The area proved to be a very relaxing place just chill. We went to a resort area, The Royal Diving Club, to swim and snorkel. Along this area is a natural reef, which is actually pretty beautiful. Even though the land is lifeless except for tourists and bracelet sellers, the seas teamed with life. There were schools of fish everywhere along with sea cucumbers and corals. The reefs were nice to swim through during the hot day.

I was sure to lather myself lavishly with sunscreen all day to insure my burn wouldn't increase. Once lounging on the beach, I was sure to place myself underneath the cabana to keep cool.

The other major attraction in Aqaba was THE SECOND LARGEST FLAG POLE IN THE WORLD!!!!!!!!! It is only outmatched by the flag pole in North Korea. I was sorely disappointed to learn that good old America lacked any ranking in this category. I think the new flag pole race (much like the arms race) should intensify. Also, I liked the idea of a tax free haven within a country. It is sorta like Delaware mixed with Duty Free section at the air port


Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0397s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb