Pyramids


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo
August 5th 2009
Published: August 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I've gotten to see the Pyramids!!!! I think I can now die in peace. They were some pretty big and interesting buildings. I was actually able to get a ticket and crawl into the inner chamber of the 2nd great pyramids. The Sphinx was cool too. However, it actually seemed smaller then what I thought it would be. However, I was glad that I still got to see the cat/man creature.

I need to get back on point. I was too distracted by those Pyramids!

Our Hotel, The Nile Hotel, was pretty swanky. It overlooked the Nile River and the Egpytian TV Tower. It provided btoh a nice view at night and during the Day. It provided a good base to explore the city of Cairo. It was a short walk (ie 5mins) over to the National (?) Museum. The museum had a very very strict rule on cameras. The 2 metal detectors and xray machines and pat downs where not to thwart terror but the paparazzi. The building housed some cool artifacts such as all of Tut's stuff. However, I cant include pics of them (tell that im bitter on that?). Anyways, I def got my fill of mummies, gold and stone in this place. The 1USD entry fee with my Jordanian Student ID also could not be beat. Yarmouk gave us all some ids that are all in Arabic. Besides our white faces, the things seem and are pretty legit to show that we are arab students. The discounts too are pretty good. I was able to get a 6$ ticket to climb into the inner chambers of the Pyramids with this thing.

The other major attraction near our hotel was the old Bazar/market. If you want to buy some cheap jewelry, clothing, Egypt themed plastic things and what ever other tourist things you want, then this is your place. However, one must remember to barter A LOT. A friend and I wanted to get "authentic" Arab Clothing. The starting price was 600 E.P but after length haggling and some free scarfs, it came out to just around 150ish ( A true shopper never tells their prices). The cab ride back to the hotel was also eye opening as it took 45 mins even though it only took 10 mins to get there. The city of Cairo does seem to have a little traffic problem.

The final main attraction during out trip was the old fort. It is made of the pillaged outer blocks from the Pyramids. It was a vast place and had a nice view of the city. There was also a very nice Mosque on the estate.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



5th August 2009

Hey
Your mother shared your site with me, how exciting to see all the places you have been, I have checked out the Egypt entry, I have not traveled there yet. Have a great and safe rest and end of your trip, your family awaits your return!

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0796s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb