Touring Israel - is it possible to be a tourist in my own country?


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Tel Aviv District » Tel Aviv
March 18th 2012
Published: March 18th 2012
Edit Blog Post

They said they are coming for a visit and I got excited.

"They" are the couple I've lived with in Italy. The couple that taught me Italian (language, culture and cooking), a couple that became friends, mentors, family. Confused? Let's start from the beginning. Early 2007. I've returned to Israel after almost 2 years in east Africa. Couldn't settle back, couldn't understand the culture I've left, the country that had changed, wished to continue traveling. Not touring. Traveling. In a way one can stay in one place and learn about the culture, the people, the language, traditions, and costumes. I didn't want to head back to Africa. Not for a while.

A short online research taught me all about wwoofing . I found the light. I've decided to go wwoofing in Italy. What could be more normal for a city girl like me, who knows that food grows in the supermarket, that air conditions and bright fluorescent lighting are essential for vegetables to grow? That's it. I'm doing the rational thing and going to live with an Italian family I don't know, speaking a language I don't know and work in the fields. I'm the one who kills everything that is green... I'm gonna grow food.

Now that's what I cold HUMOUR 😊

3 months later I was there, moved in for 10 weeks. I found an incredibly warm, welcoming and patient family, curious about others; eager to share their language and culture....I found a home away from home. They've insisted I'll buy a grammar book and learn properly (well, my Italian grammar still sucks but it's all my fault) they introduced their culture to me, patient with this city girl that saw a plant of potatoes for the first time "in Israel potatoes grows in super markets, grouped in plastic nets, in synergy with the onions" I've explained, very confident 😊 They became my friends and family, and now they are coming for a visit in Israel.

What will I show them? How will I present my country? Mixed fillings and all, what can I show them in 10 days? How deep into the Israeli unique and complex reality should we dive? In the next few posts I'll tell you all about the amazing trip we took together. What a privilege it was to take 10 days and tour my own country....


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0594s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb