Rumors say I am back in Israel. One sad blog


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Tel Aviv District » Tel Aviv
May 30th 2009
Published: May 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

with my fatherwith my fatherwith my father

easy to see where I got my looks or craziness..
And once again it takes me ages to blog... I know I've promied to blog from the trip to New Zealand. I REMEMBER trying to write several times, creating folders of pictures to upload and show you, but never done it. I think I can explain. But - first thing first....

Last I wrote was from the Israeli airport on our way to my father's dream trip for his 60 years old B-day. We went all 4 of us - 2 women in mid 30's (give a lot or take), sisters and friends, with completely different personalities, and 2 heroes - my father and his partner, both in their 60's (give or take) and using electrical wheelchairs.
The plan was flying to Australia and crewsing to New Zealand:

* 3 days in Hong Kong, saying HI to Rebecca and Anthony and the little boss (Joshua)
* 3 days in Sydney saying HI to Andreas.
We wanted to rest between the flights because sitting for 30 hours is difficult to healthy people and impossible for heroes.
* a crews to New Zealand
* 3 days road trip to the northern edge of New Zealand
* SPLIT: they go back home, I stay for extra 10 days in New Zealand
* 3 days alone in Bangkok

This entry won't be about OMG New Zealand and Australia are SSSSOOOOOO amazing.... it will be about my last trip.

this trip was different then what I am used to - It was not my own initiative, I wasn't completely alone with no commitments, and it was in countries I could speak the language (well.. sort of, when NZ coolest accent comes to mind).
Traveling in a wheel chair is not easy at all. Traveling in an electrical wheelchair that weighs 90 kilos is heavy... we had to plan everything in advanced, we didn't have time for mistakes: since we went on a crews to the other side of the world, we will never be there again (I will definitely never be on a crews ship again) we could not leave anything to chance. We had to book the attractions, the transportation, make plans, and stick to them, if we wanted to make the best out of it. As most of you know - not my way of travelling... I am not familiar with "time limits" when travelling... and again - travelling in a couple is not easy at all, but in 4... Well... it's amazing we all got back in one piece and still talking to one another 😊


Yael (my father's partner) and I are the extremists, but in completely opposite ways. My father and sister are somewhere in the middle, stuck between us (not that easy on 2 peaceful easy going characters)
just like every other group of people - we have different bioclocks, mine stars at 6 am, Yael's at 11am and with the fact that usually we had 7 hours to explore a city, I wasn't pleasant when I wasn't the first one shore.. add to that the fact that I was sea sick and spent my crew's days in bed wishing to be on land, fully understanding the sea men whom are always drunk, Fighting among them and "partying" on shore. Yael enjoyed the nice feeling of the sea... I couldn't even play Bingo...



back in Israel


The trip was difficult for me from a different aspect, I've got to a point that I had to decide if I am going back to Israel or not. And if not, then what? where? I had two dreams in life - going to Africa and learning Italian. Done them both. Now what? I thought of staying in New Zealand, she's beautiful, she's impressive, she's everything Israel is not - calm, green, laid back, but, it didn't get any where near my heart, she is too perfect to be truth, too easy, I need conflicts, difficulties, interests... that's me.
eventually I got back to Israel, I found myself a tiny place to live in - and I am nesting, found a job that sucked out all my energies so I quit, (yes.. looking for a new job, giving my self a chance in Israel), got my heart broken, found out I find it difficult to communicate with people that are not foreigners - people that never tried adapting to another culture. Found out that when I hear someone mentioning he'd been to Africa my heart expends, and I leave my shell and open up, found out that I am not the same one who left, and everything changes around me. Including my friends, Looks like I have started a new trip, a trip to myself, and this one is too personal for me to write about. So, this is goodbye for now.


I have finally updated all of my online photo albums , feel free to comment as questions etc… thank you all so much for reading my blogs, hope I will update the next one soon…




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.276s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0318s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb